Community Forums
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Basic MSI upgrade issue.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    28

    Basic MSI upgrade issue.

    I have a Basic MSI that is basically just a file copy. The input is a click once directory that is added dynamically when built. It looks something like this:
    App.Application
    publish.html
    Application Files (Directory)
    |->App_w_x_y_z (where w_x_y_z represents the version).

    The MSI runs perfectly fine the first time. I have changed the Package Code, Product Version and recreated the installer (also republished the click once so it is now version w_x_y+1_z). When I run the the new installer it tells me it will upgrade the existing installation (good), goes through the motions, looks like it is working, and tells me it completes successfully.

    When I go to the directory I installed to, I don't see any change in any of the files. I tried adding the following to MSI Command-Line Arguments 'REINSTALLMODE=vaums REINSTALL=ALL' but to no avail.

    When I do an upgrade the previous version serves no purpose anymore. With that in mind is there a way to do an uninstall first (that is silent to the user), or is there something simple that I am missing? Or a better way to accomplish what I need?

    /edit - It is worth noting that the files I am replacing have no File Version attached to them.
    Last edited by jpadilla; 12-11-2013 at 01:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    80
    You can mark each file as 'always overwrite' by right-clicking the file in the files and folders view and selcting properties, then checking the always overwrite checkbox.

    You may also want to consider authoring a major upgrade, which removes the previous version before laying down the new install. To do this you would need to change the product code and add a major upgrade item in the upgrades view.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by jlynch11 View Post
    You can mark each file as 'always overwrite' by right-clicking the file in the files and folders view and selcting properties, then checking the always overwrite checkbox.

    You may also want to consider authoring a major upgrade, which removes the previous version before laying down the new install. To do this you would need to change the product code and add a major upgrade item in the upgrades view.
    I think I am going to have to go with a Major upgrade, since the files are added with a dynamic link.

    Time to learn how to do Major upgrades. Thanks Jlynch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •