Community Forums
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 15 of 23

Thread: using sqljdbc.jar file

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    140

    Unhappy

    This is what i found in one of the java forums:
    http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?threadID=5257700
    It talks abt the issue related to eclipse. But with installanywhere, i dont know how to solve it.

    Adding part of the reply here..
    I see that this issue was posted some time ago... but better a late reply than none.

    This is most likely an incompatibility between two jar signer tools, I?ll explain further?..

    The JDBC driver jar (sqljdbc.jar) that you included in your deployment jar is signed by Microsoft?s signing tool ?SignTool.exe? whereas Eclipse is most likely using the Java standard ?Jar.exe? and ?javasigner.exe? tools to create your deployment jar.

    I experienced the same problem on a recent project, and I found that this signer tool incompatibility is only an issue when including the sqljdbc.jar into the deployment jar that is created using the Java tools.

    To fix the problem, you will need to locate the ANT build.xml file that Eclipse is using to compile and jar your application. Within the build.xml file you need to locate the ?<jar>? task, there you will most likely find something similar to the following script:

    <zipfileset src="${bin}/sqljdbc.jar" />

    The above script is used to include the sqljdbc.jar into your deployment jar. You need to replace it with the following script:

    <jar
    .
    .
    filesetmanifest="merge">
    .
    .
    <manifest>
    <attribute name="Class-Path" value="ref_jars/sqljdbc.jar"/>
    </manifest>
    .
    .
    </jar>

    It is worth mentioning that the path value used in the above example is relative to the jar execution folder. So for example, if the deployment jar were deployed to C:\bin, then the sqljdbc.jar would need to be deployed separately to C:\bin\ref_jars\sqljdbc.jar.
    Help appreciated

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,147

    Exclamation

    Well, this might be your issue, the fact that the jar is signed. IA didn't support custom code dependency on signed jars, and I don't know what's the status of more recent versions. You can also check this thread here:
    http://community.flexerasoftware.com...ght=signed+jar
    Last edited by pv7721; 07-08-2010 at 07:57 AM. Reason: update link
    Vlad

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    140
    sad.. i am not able to open any of those 3 links in your post
    quoting ur post here:
    Quote Originally Posted by pv7721 View Post
    FYI, this might be a very old issue (almost 3 years!), possible not fixed yet:

    http://community.zerog.com/cgi-bin/i...signed+and+jar

    LE: After more search I've found another post:

    http://community.zerog.com/cgi-bin/i...signed+and+jar

    that was pointing to a not supported workaround:

    http://community.zerog.com/cgi-bin/i...spath+and+hack

    Hope this helps!
    Can you pls briefly tell what these links say..?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    140

    Unhappy

    on similar lines of workaround for signed jars, i found this:
    http://kb.acresso.com/selfservice/vi...rnalID=Q000549

    workaround mentioned there is : You can put the jar file in the VM pack. Place it in the extensions directory inside the JRE and it should work, as that'll place it on the class path.
    (I need to check if this workaround works or not)

    Issues:
    1. We are using a microsoft signed sql jdbc jar. I am afraid if it is legal to put a microsoft jar in SUN's jre.

    There it says "as that'll place it on the class path." . so is there any other way to put a jar in classpath?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,147

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by qqqqqq View Post
    sad.. i am not able to open any of those 3 links in your post
    quoting ur post here:


    Can you pls briefly tell what these links say..?
    I'm sorry but when I wrote the post, that is a couple of hours ago, I've checked and the links were working. Now that I've tried them, the site seems to be down again. It's the only community IA forums back in the time IA was made by ZeroG, which the Macrovision bought (before selling the software division which became Acresso Software). Those forums are still maintained in a read only form, but seem to come and go from time to time... I think I'm going to report them again here: http://community.flexerasoftware.com...d.php?t=184979
    Last edited by pv7721; 07-08-2010 at 07:57 AM. Reason: update link
    Vlad

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •