Community Forums
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Major Upgrade deletes upgraded files

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Major Upgrade deletes upgraded files

    Why is my Major Upgrade deleting several upgraded files prior to the completion of the install? Is it attempting to 'rollback' without reporting such? InstallShield reports a successful install.

    I have a version 3.5 meant to replace 3.x; the product code has been changed, the upgrade codes are the same; I watch the install directory as the install progresses... the old files are properly removed, the new ones are properly installed, then suddenly several (but not all) of the newly installed files are deleted!

    If I then 'Repair' the installation within add/remove programs, those deleted files finally install and stay put!

    Who has an explanation for me? Let me know if you desire more detail. Thank you in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,427
    You may want to perform major upgrade with verbose installation log enabled for more info.
    Tsung-Huang Hsieh
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Solution

    Verbose did not help me determine the cause of my problem, but filing an Acresso Incident Report did- unknowingly, 'ReSequence RemoveExistingProducts After InstallFinalize' in Upgrade Paths had been activated. I do not remember altering this, and the main reason I was unable to detect this as the problem is that the interface does not indicate the current state of this selection (which I find to be very user unfriendly).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •