PDA

View Full Version : XCopyFile and CopyFile is Failing

aburajib
07-26-2002, 10:52 AM
I am in WinNT 4.0 platform and using XCopyFile and CopyFile command to copy a file from network to my local drive. It fails. The CopyFile fails with error # -2147024894. Can anybody give me any clue about whats happening?

Joshua
07-26-2002, 01:55 PM
When I pass that return code into the InstallScript function called FormatMessage, it returns the following:

"The function cannot find the file specified"

This return code will commonly occur if the path to the file is incorrect, or you don't have read/write access to that location.

aburajib
07-26-2002, 02:07 PM
Thanks for the sharp reply. But I am printing out my source path and its showing correct path. About read/write access, my install program knows that I am an Administrator on this WinNT machine (I tested it with SYSINFO.WINNT.bAdmin_Logged_On function). The file property is not set as "Read-only," I confirmed it going to the property of the file. Any idea? By the by, these XCopyFile and CopyFile functions worked fully OK in Win9x platform. Now, in WINNT40 & WIN2000 platform, none of my XCopyFile & CopyFile is working. I am in BIG trouble !! Can you help me?

Carsten Segieth
07-26-2002, 02:16 PM
I'm quite sure you're using Dev7.04?!? If so, please have a look to this thread, I had the same problem: Problem with CopyFile() after upgrade from 7.02 to 7.04 (http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99635)

aburajib
07-26-2002, 02:21 PM
I am using InstallShield 7.03 (Includes Maintenance Pack 3).

Carsten Segieth
07-26-2002, 02:23 PM
And I thought, this was a new error for 7.04. But perhaps the same work around would help you: move the copyfile to other functions. At an other place one said, that it always fails in FeatureEvent functions.

aburajib
07-26-2002, 02:35 PM