PDA

View Full Version : Please help! Problems with Update service!

Tanechka
06-17-2002, 01:09 PM
Hi ALL!

I'm new at InstallShiled & Update Service. So, I need some advices.

I've created a little utility that check for updates for my application.
I've got the following problem:
My utility is run update every startup even if it was already installed before.

So, I need to run it only for the first time. How can I do it?
I suppose that if my Update package will change the version of the application to greater one it can helps to avoid redundant calling of update. If so, how to implement it?

Could anybody help me?
:confused:

I would be glad to see any answers.

Thank you in advance.

Best regards,
Tanechka

Chris Woerner
06-17-2002, 01:27 PM
You partially answered your own question. In general, the update that you distribute should increment the version of your product. In doing that, the update will only be run once. The implementation of this depends on which InstallShield authoring tool (Express/ Professional/ Developer) you are using. The Update Service help does have some overview information on how to create update packages using these tools.

The one exception to this rule is if you are just distributing a data file or small update where you really don't want to update the version of your product. For example, Norton does not increment the version of its software just because a new virus file is distributed. In this case, your update will not increment your product version. Here, you will have to use the "conditional message" feature of the Update Service. When you author the update message on the website, you will add a condition to the update. For example, only show this update if the version of file xxx.dll is equal to 'n'. In doing this, your users may see the update the first time. But after your update is applied, the condition will evaluate 'false', and they will no longer see the update message.

Tanechka
06-17-2002, 01:42 PM