PDA

View Full Version : Enable Maintenance



NeilTaylor
06-13-2002, 10:55 AM
I would like to carry out a complete install each time my setup.exe is launched.

The Project Property 'Enable Maintenance' seems to be what I need.

This is not working, though, and every alternate time I run my setup I am put into maintenance mode. I tried to work around this by overriding script functions but this did not seem right when the project option seems to be exactly what I want.

Why does the 'Enable Maintenance' not seem to work?

Many thanks.

RobertDickau
06-14-2002, 02:14 PM
Well, that's what Enable Maintenance does, replaces the default Modify/Repair/Remove maintenance behavior with remove-only behavior.

For some alternatives to that setting, you might have a look at the bottom of http://www.installsite.org/pages/en/msi/isd.htm...

NeilTaylor
06-17-2002, 10:20 AM
Fair enough. That is certainly what is happening.

From the documentation, however, "When an end user installs your application to a system that currently has your application installed, the application is reinstalled. " implies to me that a full re-install takes place; that is, an INSTALL and not a remove. The documentation is ambiguous at best.

Many thanks for the reply anyway.