PDA

View Full Version : Update window not on top



mrsharkbait
05-23-2002, 07:37 PM
When the update service i invoked from the app, the update window opens up behind the app. Is anyone else seeing this?

Eugene

Chris Woerner
05-24-2002, 09:21 AM
We have also seen this - although not consistently. It seems more likely to happen when you have another instance of a browser open prior to launching the Update Service runtime. We are actively working to fix this bug.

Can you repeat this everytime with your application? If so, what is your configuration (OS/ Browser)?

neildavidson
05-28-2002, 11:07 AM
I'm running Windows XP Professional with Internet Explorer version 6.0.26. It seems to happen when there is already a browser window open.

Any chance of this being fixed - it's a fairly major issue

Chris Woerner
05-28-2002, 01:44 PM
This is a high priority issue for the Update Service development team. Once we identify the cause, I will have a better idea of when a fix can be delivered.

mrsharkbait
05-28-2002, 03:18 PM
It looks like an IE bug, since I see it occur both in 2000 and XP Pro. As ugly a fix this may be, you can force the new window to be the top window, which in this case warrants such action.


Eugene

Leonvanwyk
06-18-2002, 11:53 AM
Having the same issue on 95, 95 and 2000. Not doen too much testing to find what combination causes this but also looks like when other IE window is open, but sometimes not. If I do it a second time, it pops up in teh front.

Using IE5.5 SP2