PDA

View Full Version : Installallationmode: "Only for me / Anyone using that system"

Markus Palatzky
04-15-2002, 09:00 AM
Hi,
during the installation of my basic MSI package the user is asked:
"Install this apllication for: Anyone or only for me"

Unfortunately the shortcuts to my app are created always under "documents and settings\all users" even if I select only for me.

Since I am quite new in developing with Installshield I would appreciate any help what is missing in my project.
I thought I have to do nothing special in order to control the destiniation of the shortcut creation. May be this is wrong!?!

Thanks in advance.

Markus

Happy Days
04-15-2002, 09:41 AM
Hi,

From where and how are you creating the shortcuts and what is the Target/Destination set for those ?

I think i can help u.....do let me know !!

Markus Palatzky
04-15-2002, 10:25 AM
Thanks for your answer.

I created the shortcuts in the component definition/shortcut.
Target: Advertised shortcut to [INSTALLDIR]module.exe

I hope this is the information you asked for.

Markus

aventi
04-15-2002, 12:41 PM
Make sure to check your ALLUSERS setting in your properties and that it is set in this dialog. Ultimately, this property needs to be set by this dialog. At the same time note who you are at your test installation time. Do you have administrator privileges? This may matter depending on the ALLUSERS setting.

Happy Days
04-15-2002, 12:46 PM
Well,

I think this is a very good answer posted by aventi.:D

Think upon this and let us know.....good luck !!

Markus Palatzky
04-15-2002, 12:48 PM
Thanks all for helping me.

In the meanwhile I got the solution.

Please see the post from MarioC I found in the archive from 01-24-2002:
"
BUG: ALLUSERS in Customerinformation dialog
Hi,

According to my tests, it didn't make any difference if I installed for the current user only, or a per machine installation.