PDA

View Full Version : removing HKCU registry entries during uninstall for all users? yes/no?



alastair.camero
04-13-2002, 09:05 AM
Standard project, 7.02.

The InstallShield installer creates a registry HKLM hive - Company/Software/Version with keys/sub-keys at installation time for our application.

At run-time the application creates a similar hive dynamically, but under HKCU, to store the current user's settings.

Our application runs under NT, 2000 and XP. Therefore multiple users can log on/log off and use the application.

My questions are:

1. is it customary to try and clean up HKCU settings when an application is uninstalled (InstallShield is cleaning up the HKLM hive automatically which is correct).

2. What happens if 5 different users have used the application since it was installed; should an attempt be made to clean up the HKCU settings for _ALL_ users?

Alastair

oliverb
04-16-2002, 11:05 AM
Alastair,

On 1,

It is OK to leave the information in the registry provided that this is that the user data. If it relates solely to the application, (i.e. window position, window state, etc), then it is OK to remove it.

On 2,

Pretty much the same as #1.

Now, if a user removes the application from the machine, why would you want to keep the settings for these users..?

Regards,

Happy Days
04-16-2002, 11:20 AM
Hello,

If the registry entries are created in the Installation procedure, you need not worry about that. They will get removed automatically during UnInstallation since they have been logged.


Thanx.