PDA

View Full Version : LaunchAppAndWait not working ???



getnandu
04-08-2002, 08:43 AM
Hi !
IS 7.02
Basic MSI

I need to call Adobe Acrobat 5.0 (full version) from my setup. Currently I am calling the setup from LaunchAppAndWait function.
The problem is My Program Setup does not WAIT for adobe setup to complete, and it returns focus back to main setup after few seconds. How to overcome this problem ??

Thanks
Nandu

Prince
04-08-2002, 09:03 AM
You can make use of Custom Action in order to launch the other setup.

LewisQ
04-08-2002, 09:07 AM
The "problem" is that Acrobat is a IS 5 setup and it behaves in the way that setup.exe gets out of memory after launching the setup so LaunchAppAndWait() thinks the setup is done. This is the correct behavior.

Do a LaunchAppAndWait() and pass /SMS as a command-line parameter to the Acrobat setup. That's all you need. /SMS tells setup.exe to hang around until all is over. Now, it would be nicer if Adobe changes that setup to IS 6.x or 7.x....

getnandu
04-08-2002, 10:22 AM
Thanks a lot :) It worked the way I wanted...

LewisQ
04-08-2002, 10:41 AM
Glad I could help. I had my share of pain with Acrobat in the past!