PDA

View Full Version : Radio Buttons and variables

jcunning
03-27-2002, 02:04 PM
Hello,

I am very new to demoshield and have been given my first assignment. I was wondering if some of you experts could direct me on the best way to get started.

I am going to prepare a checklist for our students in their attempts to receive an AA degree.

So for communications, they must take 3 classes, totallying 9 credits:

I'll have several radio buttons they can choose from, but here is an example of one.

radio button for ENG 101. If they click on that, then a label box calulates the number 3 (for credits).

Then I need a subtotal label box to determine how many credits they have taken in Communications to determine whether they met the requirements.

I will have several different categories like this communications, such has humanities, etc. Each category will have a subtotal.

Then at the very end....I need a grandtotal of 64 credits (or whatever they have selected) to calulate.

Is this possible in Demoshield...or should I go to a javascript?

Thank you in advance!!

Shawna
03-27-2002, 03:31 PM
Yes, this can be done in DemoShield. I have set up a sample demo for you to look at because it is fairly involved.

Here's a summary of what I have done:

I created 2 sections, Section 1 and Section 2.

Section 1 has Classes 1 - 4.
Section 2 had Classes 5 - 8.

Each Section lists the class and credit hours next to a checkbox.
Each Section also has a subtotal button and a reset button.

The total section to the right totals up the credits for Sections 1 and 2.