PDA

View Full Version : StartUp File Folder



NewsArchive
01-18-1997, 01:00 AM
Please help!

How do I place a shortcut for an app into the '\Windows\Start
Menu\Programs\Startup' file folder? IS keeps creating a NEW startup
folder, which I don't want! Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks
Malcolm

NewsArchive
02-06-1997, 01:00 AM
Hello,

I have enclosed an article from our Knowledge Base with a work-around for
placing shortcuts in the Startup folder.

Rob

=====================================================================
FAQ: Can My Setup's Icons Be Installed to the Desktop or in the StartUp
Group?
=====================================================================

This document relates to the following InstallShield Express product(s):
All Express Editions
Target Platform(s): All Platforms

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------
ISSUE:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------
Can I have my setup's icons placed on the Desktop or installed in the
StartUp program group?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------
DISCUSSION:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------
Express does not currently offer these options. They are being considered
for future versions of Express Professional.

However, there does exist an alternate method for installing your
application's icon to the StartUp group. You can change your setup's
default program group to StartUp. This option is available under the Select
Program Folder - Settings tab in the Express Dialog Boxes dialog. Please
note that this would install all of your setup's icons to this folder
(except those which you have checked to be placed directly on the Start
Programs menu), and that your user may change the default program group
during installation.

For a 32-bit setup, you also have the option of using the Express Make
Registry Changes dialog to add the path of your application's executable
file to the following registry key on the target system:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Current Version\Run

For 16-bit setup, you could use Express's Make System File Changes dialog
to add your application to the [StartUp] section of the target machine's
Win.ini file. (Note: This entry would not be removed from the Win.ini file
if your application were to be unInstalled.)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------
Article Number: X1041
Date Published: 07/22/96
Date Last Modified: 07/03/96
The information provided in the InstallShield Express Knowledge Base is
subject to change without notice and is provided "as is," without warranty
of any kind. InstallShield Corporation disclaims all warranties, either
express or implied, including the warranties of merchantability and fitness
for a particular purpose. In no event shall InstallShield or its suppliers
be liable for any damages whatsoever, including direct, indirect,
incidental, consequential, loss of business profits or special damages,
even if InstallShield Corp. or its suppliers have been advised of the
possibility of such damages.


Malcolm Gates <mgates@iafrica.com> wrote in article
<32E0BF37.4E00@iafrica.com>...
> Please help!
>
> How do I place a shortcut for an app into the '\Windows\Start
> Menu\Programs\Startup' file folder? IS keeps creating a NEW startup
> folder, which I don't want! Am I missing something obvious?
>
> Thanks
> Malcolm
>

NewsArchive
08-20-1998, 12:00 AM
In Isx 2.0 click to icon and choose startup folder


Malcolm Gates wrote:

> Please help!
>
> How do I place a shortcut for an app into the '\Windows\Start
> Menu\Programs\Startup' file folder? IS keeps creating a NEW startup
> folder, which I don't want! Am I missing something obvious?
>
> Thanks
> Malcolm

NewsArchive
05-12-2000, 12:00 AM
Hi Franco,

There are only 2 files in a group. I'm working with a Pentium III 450 and 128
Mb of memory, that should not be a problem I think.....

Job