PDA

View Full Version : LockPermissions Table Stopped Working!



NewsArchive
10-25-2001, 12:00 AM
That might have worked. I opened up the directory that contained the file
in the lockpermissions table as well, and that seemed to work - the file
inherits from its directory. For the life of me, I cant figure out why it
should work using one release method and not another. Is it just me or does
the Microsoft File Installer seem way too complex for a glorified file
copier and dll tracker?


"Thomas Sweet" <tsweet@hisoftware.com> wrote in message
news:3bd82d4d.83964835@news.installshield.com...
>
> Could you use packagefortheweb to create one big exe? Just an idea,
>
>
> tom
>
>
>
>
> On Thu, 25 Oct 2001 09:40:40 -0400, "dangrillo"
> <danwise@ma.ultranet.com> wrote:
>
> >I'm using the lockpermissions table to try and give the "everyone" user
> >access to a certain file I install. As follows:
> >
> >Lockobject: F464_aspen.mdb
> >Table: File
> >Domain: I dont fill this in
> >User: Everyone
> >Permisssion : 26843546
> >
> >When I build my release so that none of the component files are
compressed,
> >this works fine. The file in question has its rights opened up to
everyone.
> >
> >But when I build it completely compressed into one setup.exe, this
doesn't
> >work at all. Is there any reason why this would be? We need to release
> >with a one file setup.exe. Any ideas?
> >
> >
>

NewsArchive
10-26-2001, 12:00 AM
Yes, it was. I checked up on that. Thanks. Opening the directory that
contained it worked for me. The Manual even says that they don't
"recommend" opening individual files. They would rather have you open the
directories.


"Pieter van Kampen" <vankampenp@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:3bd940e0@news.installshield.com...
> Is your file still named F464_aspen.mdb after changing the release method?
>
> Pieter
>
>
> "dangrillo" <danwise@ma.ultranet.com> wrote in message
> news:3bd81569$1@news.installshield.com...
> > I'm using the lockpermissions table to try and give the "everyone" user
> > access to a certain file I install. As follows:
> >
> > Lockobject: F464_aspen.mdb
> > Table: File
> > Domain: I dont fill this in
> > User: Everyone
> > Permisssion : 26843546
> >
> > When I build my release so that none of the component files are
> compressed,
> > this works fine. The file in question has its rights opened up to
> everyone.
> >
> > But when I build it completely compressed into one setup.exe, this
doesn't
> > work at all. Is there any reason why this would be? We need to release
> > with a one file setup.exe. Any ideas?
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
10-27-2001, 12:00 AM
Execute your msi from the run menu

"your package.msi" /L* logfilepath

Pieter
"dangrillo" <danwise@ma.ultranet.com> wrote in message
news:3bd9675f$1@news.installshield.com...
> Yes, it was. I checked up on that. Thanks. Opening the directory that
> contained it worked for me. The Manual even says that they don't
> "recommend" opening individual files. They would rather have you open the
> directories.
>
>
> "Pieter van Kampen" <vankampenp@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:3bd940e0@news.installshield.com...
> > Is your file still named F464_aspen.mdb after changing the release
method?
> >
> > Pieter
> >
> >
> > "dangrillo" <danwise@ma.ultranet.com> wrote in message
> > news:3bd81569$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > I'm using the lockpermissions table to try and give the "everyone"
user
> > > access to a certain file I install. As follows:
> > >
> > > Lockobject: F464_aspen.mdb
> > > Table: File
> > > Domain: I dont fill this in
> > > User: Everyone
> > > Permisssion : 26843546
> > >
> > > When I build my release so that none of the component files are
> > compressed,
> > > this works fine. The file in question has its rights opened up to
> > everyone.
> > >
> > > But when I build it completely compressed into one setup.exe, this
> doesn't
> > > work at all. Is there any reason why this would be? We need to
release
> > > with a one file setup.exe. Any ideas?
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

Rob Jones
02-11-2002, 02:22 PM
I'm trying to alter the permissions for a folder that my setup creates (via the CreateFolder Table). If I do nothing to modify the permissions, the folder gets created with three entries:

Administrator (user)
Administrators (group)
SYSTEM

I need to add an entry for the user IUSR_COMPUTERNAME, so I created one row in the LockPermissions table for this user. When I tested the setup, it died for a reason I don't remember, but I did notice that security for the new folder contained only one entry for the IUSR... user, replacing the three default entries. Since this is not what I wanted (and I guessed that the error I saw was due to my accidentally removing the default security entries) I added the above three entries to my LockPermissions Table, re-ran the setup, and it did the right thing; i.e., the new folder now contained an extra entry for the IUSR_COMPUTERNAME user record.

However, this behavior only occured one time, and for some reason, my setup no longer does anything with regards to permissions on the created folder. No matter what I do to the LockPermissions Table, default security on the folder is never altered. In fact, I don't see any mention of the LockPermissiosn Table in a setup log!

So my questions are:

1) What could be causing the LockPermissions Table to be 'skipped'?
2) How do I get this to work again?

I've checked the msi file (with Orca) and I can see my records there, so that's not the problem.

Thanks for any help.