PDA

View Full Version : Launching an executable upon install?



NewsArchive
07-09-2001, 12:00 AM
I am having the exact same problem, however, my SOURCE does point to the
executable and my TARGET is empty. I'm not sure if I'm having the problem
because I created a compressed installation, thus creating invalid keys to
the File table? Help.


"CB" <craigush42@yahoo.co.uk> wrote in message news:3b49c9ea@12.41.20.38...
> "George Kullavan" <kullavan@eecs.tufts.edu> wrote in message
> news:3B44B121.B7DD244C@eecs.tufts.edu...
> >
> > I've been having problems using a custom action to launch an executable.
> > Using the Custom Action Wizard, the action has the following settings:
> >
> >
> > Action Type: Launch an Executable
> > Location: Installed with product
> > Source: (Selected the component that contains the executable)
> > Target: (Just the executable, no command line options)
> > Return Processing: Wait for Action to Finish Executing
> > In-Script Execution: Immediate
> > Execution Scheduling: Always Execute
> >
> > I've been using Installshield Windows Installer Edition version 2.03
> > and when I try a test run of the build, I get an error -2715. What
> > does it mean and how can I work around this?
>
> Your target is incorrect. It's meant to be the file, not the component (a
> component can contain many files. It cannot know which file you want to
> execute). So find the file in the file table and put the file table key
in
> as the target.
>
> Cheers
> CB
>
>

NewsArchive
07-12-2001, 12:00 AM
"Raul Izquierdo Jr." <rauli@mtc-limited.com> wrote in message
news:3b4a0dc4@12.41.20.38...
> I am having the exact same problem, however, my SOURCE does point to the
> executable and my TARGET is empty. I'm not sure if I'm having the problem
> because I created a compressed installation, thus creating invalid keys to
> the File table? Help.

I don't know anything about compressed builds, so I wouldn't know if it
could be that. If your SOURCE is set to the correct file key I would
imagine it should work, compressed build or not.

Cheers
CB

scottw
01-25-2002, 07:05 PM
My apologies for a newbie question; I'm new to installers, and after reading the entire Install Shield Express manual, I can't seem to figure out how to have an executable run as part of the install process.

Basically, I'd like my installer to:
1. Copy a folder full of Acrobat PDF files to a specified directory
2. Create a shortcut icon to the Table of Contents PDF file
3. Launch the Acrobat Reader 4 executable to install it on the user's system

That last item is the one I'm stumped by. Any advice is appreciated!

Scott

Chandima
01-28-2002, 02:01 PM
You can do this from the Custom Actions View.

1. Are these 4 exe's self-extracting exe files (that is just one exe with all the files needed stuffed in to the exe)? If so, launching them one after the next at the end of the install should work.

2. If they are not self extracting, you can make them so using Package For The Web (free from our website) or a similar product and then launch them as Custom Actions.

3. You could put the 4 setups in the "Support Files" folder. This copy these files to the Temp Folder ONLY for the duration of the install. Once the install is over these files will be deleted from the local machine. So then you can run custom actions that launch each exe in the order you want.

4. If you have Express 3.53 you will also have the option of installing these files with your setup to a locaiton on the target machine and then launching them. This is redundant but another way of doing it.