PDA

View Full Version : How do I dynamically update my version number?



NewsArchive
12-20-2001, 01:00 AM
Hi all,

I'm using InstallShield Pro v6.31. My installer is a self-extracting .exe
created from a batch file which calls the various IS commands. I would like
the build date to become part of our version number for our product: 2.0
12/20/2001.

Someone had suggested that I updated the setup.ini produced by IS but since
I'm producing a self-extracting .exe for our installer, that won't work.

Can any of you make suggestions on how I can do this without having to
manually update a variable in IS everytime. Our build is automated and runs
every night. This is why we'd like the date to appear in our version
number.

Thanks for you help.

Regards,
Steve Cannon
Austin, TX

NewsArchive
12-20-2001, 01:00 AM
Steve Cannon wrote:

> I'm using InstallShield Pro v6.31. My installer is a self-extracting .exe
> created from a batch file which calls the various IS commands. I would like
> the build date to become part of our version number for our product: 2.0
> 12/20/2001.

The way I do it here is with a perl script (a bit more powerful than batch
files..and something I know) which replaces the version string in the various
string tables, etc.

Just have the script replace the right entries that have the version # with your
updated version #.

I replace the following:
1) Within VC++ projects (.rc files), I replace the ProductVersion and
FileVersion entries.
2) Within the PackageForTheWeb file (.pftw), I replace the Version= entry.
3) In the IS string table (value.shl), I replace the PRODUCT_VERSION entry.

BTW, I vaguely remember someone by the name of Steve Cannon when I went to the
University of Texas at Austin.

--Jason