PDA

View Full Version : Language transforms in Dev7.02



NewsArchive
11-07-2000, 01:00 AM
Ok, but I have also to test if Installed is False. Else the cached msi would
not start, when activated from Configuration Panel | Software, I assume?

My idea was to check if the msi file is transformed with a language mst
file. Is that possible?

Jaap

Robert M. Dickau
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
installshield.com> schreef in berichtnieuws 3a02db5a$1@12.41.20.38...
> In what way do you want to "prevent" the situation? (One way to determine
> whether the user launched setup.exe or the MSI file is to add the value
>
> USER_CLICKED_EXE=1
>
> to the CmdLine entry in Setup.ini; a custom action can then use the
> condition "Not USER_CLICKED_EXE" to display some sort of warning message
and
> then exit the installation...)
>
> "Jaap Mosselman" <j.mosselman@comvee.nl> wrote in message
> news:39fece71@12.41.20.38...
> > Hi,
> >
> > I have created a setup with multiple languages. So all the UI is in
*.mst
> > files. This setup should be started with setup.exe. But when I
doubleclick
> > on the *.msi file in the explorer, the product is installed without any
> user
> > interface. I want to prevent this situation. How can I do this?
> >
> > Thanks in advance,
> >
> > Jaap
>
> --
> Robert M. Dickau
> Senior Technical Trainer
> InstallShield Software Corp.
> www.installshield.com/training
>
>

NewsArchive
11-07-2000, 01:00 AM
That's correct; you'd want to add Not Installed to the condition.

To see if a language transform was applied, I expect you can test if
ProductLanguage is defined...

"Jaap Mosselman" <j.mosselman@comvee.nl> wrote in message
news:3a07f5dc$1@12.41.20.38...
> Ok, but I have also to test if Installed is False. Else the cached msi
would
> not start, when activated from Configuration Panel | Software, I assume?
>
> My idea was to check if the msi file is transformed with a language mst
> file. Is that possible?

NewsArchive
11-08-2000, 01:00 AM
Thank you, Robert, for the tips. I'll try them.

Did you also read my message "Patch problem!! Files not updated" on
1-nov-2000?
Last week I installed the patch from ISWI 2.00 to 2.01, so InstallShield can
make patches, but my patch doesn't work. Please take some minutes to look at
it.

with regards,
Jaap

Robert M. Dickau
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
installshield.com> schreef in berichtnieuws 3a082df1@12.41.20.38...
> That's correct; you'd want to add Not Installed to the condition.
>
> To see if a language transform was applied, I expect you can test if
> ProductLanguage is defined...
>
> "Jaap Mosselman" <j.mosselman@comvee.nl> wrote in message
> news:3a07f5dc$1@12.41.20.38...
> > Ok, but I have also to test if Installed is False. Else the cached msi
> would
> > not start, when activated from Configuration Panel | Software, I assume?
> >
> > My idea was to check if the msi file is transformed with a language mst
> > file. Is that possible?
>
>
>

NewsArchive
01-04-2002, 01:00 AM
Hi,

Why are there no more mst file created for multi-lingual setups? Till 7.01
there were mst files in the setup directory of the form 1033.mst, 1043.mstm
and so on for all included languages.
7.02 does not create them anymore and my setup often crashes. He is still
looking for 1033.mst in the setup directory but it's not there and the setup
interrupts. The strange is that if I run the setup using setup.exe ten
times in a row, four times it interrupts and six times, it will continue
with the selected language.

What is going wrong since I upgraded to 7.02?

Mario

NewsArchive
01-07-2002, 01:00 AM
"Mario" <mario.cauwe@quadrat.be> wrote in message
news:3c35c80e$1@news.installshield.com...
> Hi,
>
> Why are there no more mst file created for multi-lingual setups? Till
7.01
> there were mst files in the setup directory of the form 1033.mst,
1043.mstm
> and so on for all included languages.
> 7.02 does not create them anymore and my setup often crashes. He is still
> looking for 1033.mst in the setup directory but it's not there and the
setup
> interrupts. The strange is that if I run the setup using setup.exe ten
> times in a row, four times it interrupts and six times, it will continue
> with the selected language.
>
> What is going wrong since I upgraded to 7.02?

I've discovered a workaround to this bug.

Redo your release description in the release wizard and make your setup
file a mixture of compressed and uncompressed components. You can mark ALL
of them there as uncompressed, but it still seems to then compress the mst
and a few other helper files. It seems the case of compressing the MST file
works, but frequently not the uncompressed case.

I reported this to IS a few weeks ago, and got no response from them.

Lewis.

NewsArchive
01-07-2002, 01:00 AM
Thanks, I'll try it right away.

"Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
news:3c399e24$1@news.installshield.com...
>
> "Mario" <mario.cauwe@quadrat.be> wrote in message
> news:3c35c80e$1@news.installshield.com...
> > Hi,
> >
> > Why are there no more mst file created for multi-lingual setups? Till
> 7.01
> > there were mst files in the setup directory of the form 1033.mst,
> 1043.mstm
> > and so on for all included languages.
> > 7.02 does not create them anymore and my setup often crashes. He is
still
> > looking for 1033.mst in the setup directory but it's not there and the
> setup
> > interrupts. The strange is that if I run the setup using setup.exe ten
> > times in a row, four times it interrupts and six times, it will continue
> > with the selected language.
> >
> > What is going wrong since I upgraded to 7.02?
>
> I've discovered a workaround to this bug.
>
> Redo your release description in the release wizard and make your
setup
> file a mixture of compressed and uncompressed components. You can mark ALL
> of them there as uncompressed, but it still seems to then compress the mst
> and a few other helper files. It seems the case of compressing the MST
file
> works, but frequently not the uncompressed case.
>
> I reported this to IS a few weeks ago, and got no response from them.
>
> Lewis.
>
>
>

NewsArchive
01-07-2002, 01:00 AM
After using this compression, it went good for a while, but suddenly it gave
me that same error again.

The strange thing is that is only happens rarely (but still too many times)


"Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
news:3c399e24$1@news.installshield.com...
>
> "Mario" <mario.cauwe@quadrat.be> wrote in message
> news:3c35c80e$1@news.installshield.com...
> > Hi,
> >
> > Why are there no more mst file created for multi-lingual setups? Till
> 7.01
> > there were mst files in the setup directory of the form 1033.mst,
> 1043.mstm
> > and so on for all included languages.
> > 7.02 does not create them anymore and my setup often crashes. He is
still
> > looking for 1033.mst in the setup directory but it's not there and the
> setup
> > interrupts. The strange is that if I run the setup using setup.exe ten
> > times in a row, four times it interrupts and six times, it will continue
> > with the selected language.
> >
> > What is going wrong since I upgraded to 7.02?
>
> I've discovered a workaround to this bug.
>
> Redo your release description in the release wizard and make your
setup
> file a mixture of compressed and uncompressed components. You can mark ALL
> of them there as uncompressed, but it still seems to then compress the mst
> and a few other helper files. It seems the case of compressing the MST
file
> works, but frequently not the uncompressed case.
>
> I reported this to IS a few weeks ago, and got no response from them.
>
> Lewis.
>
>
>