PDA

View Full Version : FilesInUse dialog



NewsArchive
01-05-2001, 01:00 AM
Thanks for the reply.
Yes, it does prompt for a reboot. But why does it list MyApp as a file in
use when it is not installed on the machine but is in fact the application
being installed? There is obviously something else happening but I have no
clue as to where to start looking.
Linda

Robert M. Dickau
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
installshield.com> wrote in message news:3a564bc0$1@12.41.20.38...
> If you choose Ignore on the FilesInUse dialog box, does the installer
prompt
> for a reboot at the end? That's the designed behavior; is something else
> happening?
>
> "Linda Schneider" <schneidl@eglin.af.mil> wrote in message
> news:3a563672$1@12.41.20.38...
> > During the installation of my product, the FilesInUse dialog appears and
> > lists the product that I am attempting to install as being in use. The
> > product is not yet installed on the machine. If I click Ignore, the
> > installation continues without a problem. Any suggestions will be
greatly
> > appreciated.
>
> --
> Robert M. Dickau
> Senior Technical Trainer
> InstallShield Software Corp.
> www.installshield.com/training
>
>
>
>

NewsArchive
01-05-2001, 01:00 AM
Do you execute any Custom Actions before InstallValidate?

Sean

Linda Schneider wrote:
>
> Thanks for the reply.
> Yes, it does prompt for a reboot. But why does it list MyApp as a file in
> use when it is not installed on the machine but is in fact the application
> being installed? There is obviously something else happening but I have no
> clue as to where to start looking.
> Linda
>
> Robert M. Dickau
> <i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
> installshield.com> wrote in message news:3a564bc0$1@12.41.20.38...
> > If you choose Ignore on the FilesInUse dialog box, does the installer
> prompt
> > for a reboot at the end? That's the designed behavior; is something else
> > happening?
> >
> > "Linda Schneider" <schneidl@eglin.af.mil> wrote in message
> > news:3a563672$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > During the installation of my product, the FilesInUse dialog appears and
> > > lists the product that I am attempting to install as being in use. The
> > > product is not yet installed on the machine. If I click Ignore, the
> > > installation continues without a problem. Any suggestions will be
> greatly
> > > appreciated.
> >
> > --
> > Robert M. Dickau
> > Senior Technical Trainer
> > InstallShield Software Corp.
> > www.installshield.com/training
> >
> >
> >
> >

NewsArchive
01-05-2001, 01:00 AM
No.
Linda

Sean Lambert <seanl@sea.checkpoint.com> wrote in message
news:3A564DBA.E7CD8A8@sea.checkpoint.com...
> Do you execute any Custom Actions before InstallValidate?
>
> Sean
>
> Linda Schneider wrote:
> >
> > Thanks for the reply.
> > Yes, it does prompt for a reboot. But why does it list MyApp as a file
in
> > use when it is not installed on the machine but is in fact the
application
> > being installed? There is obviously something else happening but I have
no
> > clue as to where to start looking.
> > Linda
> >
> > Robert M. Dickau
> >
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
> > installshield.com> wrote in message news:3a564bc0$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > If you choose Ignore on the FilesInUse dialog box, does the installer
> > prompt
> > > for a reboot at the end? That's the designed behavior; is something
else
> > > happening?
> > >
> > > "Linda Schneider" <schneidl@eglin.af.mil> wrote in message
> > > news:3a563672$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > > During the installation of my product, the FilesInUse dialog appears
and
> > > > lists the product that I am attempting to install as being in use.
The
> > > > product is not yet installed on the machine. If I click Ignore, the
> > > > installation continues without a problem. Any suggestions will be
> > greatly
> > > > appreciated.
> > >
> > > --
> > > Robert M. Dickau
> > > Senior Technical Trainer
> > > InstallShield Software Corp.
> > > www.installshield.com/training
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >

NewsArchive
12-23-2001, 01:00 AM
Hi,

I'm using IS7 + AutoPlay. I'm running the autorun.exe file and from there,
I'm running my installation. The problem is that during the installation,
the FilesInUse dialog appears saying that the autoplay process must be
ended. Why? How can I change that?

Thanks
Erez

NewsArchive
12-26-2001, 01:00 AM
Is this a Standard or Basic project?

"Erez" <zilber@galileo.co.il> wrote in message
news:3c25f5c7@news.installshield.com...
> Hi,
>
> I'm using IS7 + AutoPlay. I'm running the autorun.exe file and from there,
> I'm running my installation. The problem is that during the installation,
> the FilesInUse dialog appears saying that the autoplay process must be
> ended. Why? How can I change that?
>
> Thanks
> Erez
>
>

NewsArchive
12-27-2001, 01:00 AM
Basic project

"Kent Foyer" <kent@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c29ffc9$1@news.installshield.com...
> Is this a Standard or Basic project?
>
> "Erez" <zilber@galileo.co.il> wrote in message
> news:3c25f5c7@news.installshield.com...
> > Hi,
> >
> > I'm using IS7 + AutoPlay. I'm running the autorun.exe file and from
there,
> > I'm running my installation. The problem is that during the
installation,
> > the FilesInUse dialog appears saying that the autoplay process must be
> > ended. Why? How can I change that?
> >
> > Thanks
> > Erez
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-28-2001, 01:00 AM
The easy answer would be that the autorun program is using something on the
system that your installation wants to replace. If it's not obviously any
files you know about, it could be a redistributable Dll (mfc42.dll for
example). You just need to figure out what your autorun program is using
that your installation wants to replace, so a dependency walker on your
autorun program might help, if you cross-reference the list with what you're
installing.

"Erez" <zilber@galileo.co.il> wrote in message
news:3c2b0516@news.installshield.com...
> Basic project
>
> "Kent Foyer" <kent@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c29ffc9$1@news.installshield.com...
> > Is this a Standard or Basic project?
> >
> > "Erez" <zilber@galileo.co.il> wrote in message
> > news:3c25f5c7@news.installshield.com...
> > > Hi,
> > >
> > > I'm using IS7 + AutoPlay. I'm running the autorun.exe file and from
> there,
> > > I'm running my installation. The problem is that during the
> installation,
> > > the FilesInUse dialog appears saying that the autoplay process must be
> > > ended. Why? How can I change that?
> > >
> > > Thanks
> > > Erez
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>