PDA

View Full Version : SELECTED_LANGUAGE



NewsArchive
05-09-2000, 12:00 AM
This is a problem. I do not start the setup with the registry Runonce key
after reboot. I use the OnRebooted function of InstallShield. And in this
function I continue my setup (just some final settings, but there are some
dialog-box in...).

So I think I can't use the Runonce....

Is this something the InstallShield Team forgot? I seems logic to me that if
the system reboots, it continues in the same language as it started ????

So please, any more ideas or do I have to change my setup completely so that
I work with the runonce key???

Peter Vermeesch
Infosoft

P.S. Thanks Stefan



Stefan Krueger <@> wrote in message <391696e9.0@208.30.171.38>...
>IS6 supports the -l command line parameter to specify the language. Add
that
>to the RunOnce entry in registry.
>There is no way to change SELECTED_LANGUAGE once setup has started.
>
>--
>Stefan Krueger - Independent Setup Consultant
><<reply-to address is invalid to avoid spam>>
>
>Visit InstallSite at http://www.installsite.org to download
>free code samples, tips, tools and more...
>For information about individual support and consulting services
>please send a blank mail to the autoresponder at info@installsite.org
>
>Stefan Krueger and the InstallSite.org web site are not affiliated
>with InstallShield Software Corporation.
>
>Peter Vermeesch <PVR@infosoft.be> schrieb in im Newsbeitrag:
>3916916c.0@208.30.171.38...
>> Yep,
>>
>> I have a little question about SELECTED_LANGUAGE.
>>
>> If I install my program, the user can select the language. (Default
>language
>> dialog box).
>> Everything works fine, but my script reboots within the installation, and
>> continues after the reboot. The problem here is, that the script
continues
>> after rebool in the default system language, and not in the language the
>> user selected from the start of the script !
>>
>> So, Is there a way to change the SELECTED_LANGUAGE after the reboot. (I
>> saved it to the registry, so there is no problem to detect the user
>selected
>> language, but I can't find a way to say SELECTED_LANGUAGE = ....)
>>
>>
>> Thanx
>>
>> Peter Vermeesch
>> Infosoft Belgium
>>
>>
>
>

NewsArchive
05-09-2000, 12:00 AM
InstallShield creates a RunOnce entry that you could modify. Problem is that
IS creates the entry after the OnEnd event, so there is no way to change it
from within your script. You would have to use an external program for this
purpose.

I agree that IS should handle this internally.

--
Stefan Krueger - Independent Setup Consultant
<<reply-to address is invalid to avoid spam>>

Visit InstallSite at http://www.installsite.org to download
free code samples, tips, tools and more...
For information about individual support and consulting services
please send a blank mail to the autoresponder at info@installsite.org

Stefan Krueger and the InstallSite.org web site are not affiliated
with InstallShield Software Corporation.

Peter Vermeesch <PVR@infosoft.be> schrieb in im Newsbeitrag:
3917d0a7.0@208.30.171.38...
> This is a problem. I do not start the setup with the registry Runonce key
> after reboot. I use the OnRebooted function of InstallShield. And in this
> function I continue my setup (just some final settings, but there are some
> dialog-box in...).
>
> So I think I can't use the Runonce....
>
> Is this something the InstallShield Team forgot? I seems logic to me that
if
> the system reboots, it continues in the same language as it started ????
>
> So please, any more ideas or do I have to change my setup completely so
that
> I work with the runonce key???
>
> Peter Vermeesch
> Infosoft
>
> P.S. Thanks Stefan
>
>
>
> Stefan Krueger <@> wrote in message <391696e9.0@208.30.171.38>...
> >IS6 supports the -l command line parameter to specify the language. Add
> that
> >to the RunOnce entry in registry.
> >There is no way to change SELECTED_LANGUAGE once setup has started.
> >
> >--
> >Stefan Krueger - Independent Setup Consultant
> ><<reply-to address is invalid to avoid spam>>
> >
> >Visit InstallSite at http://www.installsite.org to download
> >free code samples, tips, tools and more...
> >For information about individual support and consulting services
> >please send a blank mail to the autoresponder at info@installsite.org
> >
> >Stefan Krueger and the InstallSite.org web site are not affiliated
> >with InstallShield Software Corporation.
> >
> >Peter Vermeesch <PVR@infosoft.be> schrieb in im Newsbeitrag:
> >3916916c.0@208.30.171.38...
> >> Yep,
> >>
> >> I have a little question about SELECTED_LANGUAGE.
> >>
> >> If I install my program, the user can select the language. (Default
> >language
> >> dialog box).
> >> Everything works fine, but my script reboots within the installation,
and
> >> continues after the reboot. The problem here is, that the script
> continues
> >> after rebool in the default system language, and not in the language
the
> >> user selected from the start of the script !
> >>
> >> So, Is there a way to change the SELECTED_LANGUAGE after the reboot. (I
> >> saved it to the registry, so there is no problem to detect the user
> >selected
> >> language, but I can't find a way to say SELECTED_LANGUAGE = ....)
> >>
> >>
> >> Thanx
> >>
> >> Peter Vermeesch
> >> Infosoft Belgium
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-11-2001, 01:00 AM
Why SELECTED_LANGUAGE variable doesn't work propertly in MSI projects?

NewsArchive
12-11-2001, 01:00 AM
In what way are you using it? I created an InstallScript custom action which
just displays the value of SELECTED_LANGUAGE and it seems to work fine.
Here's the code I used:

-----
export prototype MyFunction(HWND);

function MyFunction(hMSI)
string sLang;
begin
Sprintf(sLang, "%d", SELECTED_LANGUAGE);
MessageBox(sLang,INFORMATION);
end
-----

--
Martin
InstallShield Software Corp.


"Sergey Korostel" <korostel@avilink.net> wrote in message
news:3c16533f@news.installshield.com...
> Why SELECTED_LANGUAGE variable doesn't work propertly in MSI projects?
>
>
>