PDA

View Full Version : moduleInstallExecuteSequence



NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
What I want to do is this. I have a merge module with a custom action
SetAProperty Value which I would like to execute after InstallInitialize.
How can I do this? Also I would like to execute The RegisterDLL Custom
Action (deferred) after the Publishproduct Standard Action.



--



Best Regards

Yiannis Patrikiadis
yiannis@arion.gr






"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c1109cf$1@news.installshield.com...
> Could you share what you have...I can tell you what is wrong with it.
>
> "Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
> news:3c10f5ae@news.installshield.com...
> > Is there an example anywhere with this table filled with values? I have
> > tried according to the MSI help and I can't get anything.
> >
> > --
> >
> >
> >
> > Best Regards
> >
> > Yiannis Patrikiadis
> > yiannis@arion.gr
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
Record 1:
Action: SetPropertyCA
Sequence: Leave Empty
Base Action: Installinitialize
After: 1
Condition: Your Condition

Record 2:
Action: Installinitialize
Sequence: 700
Base Action: Leave Empty
After: Leave Empty
Condition: Leave Empty


Follow the same two record model for your other custom action that you want
to put after publish product.

Regards
David Thornley

"Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
news:3c112523@news.installshield.com...
> What I want to do is this. I have a merge module with a custom action
> SetAProperty Value which I would like to execute after InstallInitialize.
> How can I do this? Also I would like to execute The RegisterDLL Custom
> Action (deferred) after the Publishproduct Standard Action.
>
>
>
> --
>
>
>
> Best Regards
>
> Yiannis Patrikiadis
> yiannis@arion.gr
>
>
>
>
>
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c1109cf$1@news.installshield.com...
> > Could you share what you have...I can tell you what is wrong with it.
> >
> > "Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
> > news:3c10f5ae@news.installshield.com...
> > > Is there an example anywhere with this table filled with values? I
have
> > > tried according to the MSI help and I can't get anything.
> > >
> > > --
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Best Regards
> > >
> > > Yiannis Patrikiadis
> > > yiannis@arion.gr
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-08-2001, 01:00 AM
I have done as you mentioned and two things happened.
First the action didn't work and also I got error ICEM12 when I validate the
merge module

--



Best Regards

Yiannis Patrikiadis
yiannis@arion.gr






"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c112cb5$1@news.installshield.com...
> Record 1:
> Action: SetPropertyCA
> Sequence: Leave Empty
> Base Action: Installinitialize
> After: 1
> Condition: Your Condition
>
> Record 2:
> Action: Installinitialize
> Sequence: 700
> Base Action: Leave Empty
> After: Leave Empty
> Condition: Leave Empty
>
>
> Follow the same two record model for your other custom action that you
want
> to put after publish product.
>
> Regards
> David Thornley
>
> "Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
> news:3c112523@news.installshield.com...
> > What I want to do is this. I have a merge module with a custom action
> > SetAProperty Value which I would like to execute after
InstallInitialize.
> > How can I do this? Also I would like to execute The RegisterDLL Custom
> > Action (deferred) after the Publishproduct Standard Action.
> >
> >
> >
> > --
> >
> >
> >
> > Best Regards
> >
> > Yiannis Patrikiadis
> > yiannis@arion.gr
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c1109cf$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > Could you share what you have...I can tell you what is wrong with it.
> > >
> > > "Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
> > > news:3c10f5ae@news.installshield.com...
> > > > Is there an example anywhere with this table filled with values? I
> have
> > > > tried according to the MSI help and I can't get anything.
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Best Regards
> > > >
> > > > Yiannis Patrikiadis
> > > > yiannis@arion.gr
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-08-2001, 01:00 AM
I have a merge module that installs two files. There are custom actions
that calls from each file a certain function.

I also have other msm's that do the same thing.

In my MainSetup I am including all msm's (first one described as well). In
order to run the custom actions (these are placed after Publish product)
custom actions from the other msm's should have run first. (these actions
are placed at the same location. After Publish product). How can I do this
(be sure that custom actions from the other msm's have already complete?)
--



Best Regards

Yiannis Patrikiadis
yiannis@arion.gr

NewsArchive
12-08-2001, 01:00 AM
Hi Yiannis,

"take two for one" ...
1. Each of Your MM-CA's should give a sign, that is has finished its work
normally.
The CA should do this by setting a property "<CaName>Finished=1". If this is
not possible from within the CA due to its very nature, create another
"controller" CA within that MM, that checks if the corresponding CA has
finished normally, and sets a property instead of the "worker" CA.
2. Within the "main" installer sequence, insert the MM CA's using the
intened order.
Assign the "*Finished" properties to trigger the execution of following CAs.

E.G.
MM-A, CA1 sets "MMACA1Finished" to "1"
MM-A, CA2 gets condition "MMACA1Finished=1" an sets MMACA2Finished to "1"
MM-B, CA1 gets condition "MMACA2Finished=1" an sets MMBCA1Finished to "1"
....

hope that works
Niko

"Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
news:3c11faae@news.installshield.com...
> I have a merge module that installs two files. There are custom actions
> that calls from each file a certain function.
>
> I also have other msm's that do the same thing.
>
> In my MainSetup I am including all msm's (first one described as well). In
> order to run the custom actions (these are placed after Publish product)
> custom actions from the other msm's should have run first. (these actions
> are placed at the same location. After Publish product). How can I do this
> (be sure that custom actions from the other msm's have already complete?)
> --
>
>
>
> Best Regards
>
> Yiannis Patrikiadis
> yiannis@arion.gr
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

NewsArchive
12-10-2001, 01:00 AM
Hi...

When you get the ICEM12 Message you'll get a more detailed description..
What's this description?

--Rune G



"Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
news:3c11d599@news.installshield.com...
> I have done as you mentioned and two things happened.
> First the action didn't work and also I got error ICEM12 when I validate
the
> merge module
>
> --
>
>
>
> Best Regards
>
> Yiannis Patrikiadis
> yiannis@arion.gr
>
>
>
>
>
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c112cb5$1@news.installshield.com...
> > Record 1:
> > Action: SetPropertyCA
> > Sequence: Leave Empty
> > Base Action: Installinitialize
> > After: 1
> > Condition: Your Condition
> >
> > Record 2:
> > Action: Installinitialize
> > Sequence: 700
> > Base Action: Leave Empty
> > After: Leave Empty
> > Condition: Leave Empty
> >
> >
> > Follow the same two record model for your other custom action that you
> want
> > to put after publish product.
> >
> > Regards
> > David Thornley
> >
> > "Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
> > news:3c112523@news.installshield.com...
> > > What I want to do is this. I have a merge module with a custom action
> > > SetAProperty Value which I would like to execute after
> InstallInitialize.
> > > How can I do this? Also I would like to execute The RegisterDLL Custom
> > > Action (deferred) after the Publishproduct Standard Action.
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Best Regards
> > >
> > > Yiannis Patrikiadis
> > > yiannis@arion.gr
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> > > news:3c1109cf$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > > Could you share what you have...I can tell you what is wrong with
it.
> > > >
> > > > "Arion Software" <yiannis@arion.gr> wrote in message
> > > > news:3c10f5ae@news.installshield.com...
> > > > > Is there an example anywhere with this table filled with values? I
> > have
> > > > > tried according to the MSI help and I can't get anything.
> > > > >
> > > > > --
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > Best Regards
> > > > >
> > > > > Yiannis Patrikiadis
> > > > > yiannis@arion.gr
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>