PDA

View Full Version : How to ger just a compressed msi with seperate setup.exe.



NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
In a standard project I would like to build am msi file containing all my
files and have a seperate setup.exe. How can this be done?
We do not want the setup.exe to cintain the msi and also I would like not to
have the files in cabs or in directories outside the msi.

Please reply if you know how to do this.

Thanks
Chris

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
I can not think of a way to do this from Developer 7. You *could* create
release that creates a single MSI package without the setup.exe. Then
create another release that is a CD-ROM image selecting that you want all of
the engines to be installed from setup.exe. This will create a setup.exe
with all of the engines and setup.ini streamed into it. Then copy the
setup.exe from the folder for this release to the folder for the first
release that you have created.

Sounds a little far fetched, but it's all I've got ;)

Regards
David Thornley

"Chris Fellas" <cfellas@spss.com> wrote in message
news:3c10b780$1@news.installshield.com...
> In a standard project I would like to build am msi file containing all my
> files and have a seperate setup.exe. How can this be done?
> We do not want the setup.exe to cintain the msi and also I would like not
to
> have the files in cabs or in directories outside the msi.
>
> Please reply if you know how to do this.
>
> Thanks
> Chris
>
>

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
Good idea but,
There is no way of createing a MSI without a setup.exe in the standard
project. My problem is that I can't compress the files in
my setup without either having many small cab files or one setup.exe which
has the msi included. -Bug?-
Other options that would be more appealing to me would be that a
setup.exe
the instmsi??.exe
Product Name.msi
and one single Product Name.cab with all the components in.

not over 100 cab files, I have loads of components. Is there a way of doing
this?

Thanks

Chris Fellas


"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c11009d$1@news.installshield.com...
> I can not think of a way to do this from Developer 7. You *could* create
> release that creates a single MSI package without the setup.exe. Then
> create another release that is a CD-ROM image selecting that you want all
of
> the engines to be installed from setup.exe. This will create a setup.exe
> with all of the engines and setup.ini streamed into it. Then copy the
> setup.exe from the folder for this release to the folder for the first
> release that you have created.
>
> Sounds a little far fetched, but it's all I've got ;)
>
> Regards
> David Thornley
>
> "Chris Fellas" <cfellas@spss.com> wrote in message
> news:3c10b780$1@news.installshield.com...
> > In a standard project I would like to build am msi file containing all
my
> > files and have a seperate setup.exe. How can this be done?
> > We do not want the setup.exe to cintain the msi and also I would like
not
> to
> > have the files in cabs or in directories outside the msi.
> >
> > Please reply if you know how to do this.
> >
> > Thanks
> > Chris
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
This would be a problem for standard projects.

If you create a CD-ROM configuration. Select that you want "Compressed" It
will give you an image with a single CAB file.

Regards
David Thornley

"Chris Fellas" <cfellas@spss.com> wrote in message
news:3c1104e0$1@news.installshield.com...
> Good idea but,
> There is no way of createing a MSI without a setup.exe in the standard
> project. My problem is that I can't compress the files in
> my setup without either having many small cab files or one setup.exe which
> has the msi included. -Bug?-
> Other options that would be more appealing to me would be that a
> setup.exe
> the instmsi??.exe
> Product Name.msi
> and one single Product Name.cab with all the components in.
>
> not over 100 cab files, I have loads of components. Is there a way of
doing
> this?
>
> Thanks
>
> Chris Fellas
>
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c11009d$1@news.installshield.com...
> > I can not think of a way to do this from Developer 7. You *could*
create
> > release that creates a single MSI package without the setup.exe. Then
> > create another release that is a CD-ROM image selecting that you want
all
> of
> > the engines to be installed from setup.exe. This will create a
setup.exe
> > with all of the engines and setup.ini streamed into it. Then copy the
> > setup.exe from the folder for this release to the folder for the first
> > release that you have created.
> >
> > Sounds a little far fetched, but it's all I've got ;)
> >
> > Regards
> > David Thornley
> >
> > "Chris Fellas" <cfellas@spss.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c10b780$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > In a standard project I would like to build am msi file containing all
> my
> > > files and have a seperate setup.exe. How can this be done?
> > > We do not want the setup.exe to cintain the msi and also I would like
> not
> > to
> > > have the files in cabs or in directories outside the msi.
> > >
> > > Please reply if you know how to do this.
> > >
> > > Thanks
> > > Chris
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
Chris,
We've included "One cab per feature" option in 7.02 so that should create
less cabs.

"Chris Fellas" <cfellas@spss.com> wrote in message
news:3c1104e0$1@news.installshield.com...
> Good idea but,
> There is no way of createing a MSI without a setup.exe in the standard
> project. My problem is that I can't compress the files in
> my setup without either having many small cab files or one setup.exe which
> has the msi included. -Bug?-
> Other options that would be more appealing to me would be that a
> setup.exe
> the instmsi??.exe
> Product Name.msi
> and one single Product Name.cab with all the components in.
>
> not over 100 cab files, I have loads of components. Is there a way of
doing
> this?
>
> Thanks
>
> Chris Fellas
>
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c11009d$1@news.installshield.com...
> > I can not think of a way to do this from Developer 7. You *could*
create
> > release that creates a single MSI package without the setup.exe. Then
> > create another release that is a CD-ROM image selecting that you want
all
> of
> > the engines to be installed from setup.exe. This will create a
setup.exe
> > with all of the engines and setup.ini streamed into it. Then copy the
> > setup.exe from the folder for this release to the folder for the first
> > release that you have created.
> >
> > Sounds a little far fetched, but it's all I've got ;)
> >
> > Regards
> > David Thornley
> >
> > "Chris Fellas" <cfellas@spss.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c10b780$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > In a standard project I would like to build am msi file containing all
> my
> > > files and have a seperate setup.exe. How can this be done?
> > > We do not want the setup.exe to cintain the msi and also I would like
> not
> > to
> > > have the files in cabs or in directories outside the msi.
> > >
> > > Please reply if you know how to do this.
> > >
> > > Thanks
> > > Chris
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>