PDA

View Full Version : language packs and installers that work in multiple user interface languages



NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
Folks:
I'm using InstallShield 7.01, and I have installed the East and the West
packs. In case this is relevant - my project file was first created BEFORE I
had the EastWest packs installed. It originally only supported English. I
have a BasicMSI installer.

I added support for Japanese and Spanish. When I run the installer, some
things (mostly at the beginning and end of the installation process) come up
in Spanish or Japanese (assuming I pick those languages at installer
startup). But - most of the dialogs in the middle show up in English.

When I examine the project file, and the dialogs stored there - all the
different language dialogs appear in English. When I attempt to edit the
dialogs for one language, BOTH of them get edited.

Does this functionality really work with IS 7.01? What am I doing wrong?

Lewis.

NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
A) To get Spanish and Japanese added to a project created after you applied
the language packs you need to import the string tables for those languages.
I think the strings are stored in the <Path to Developer>\languages
directory.

B) When you edit the geometry for the default language dialog it will edit
all languages. This connection to the other languages will be broken the
first time you edit a non default dialog. Note that control geometry must
be different but a control must exist on all dialogs for all languages.

"Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
news:3c0fbd28$1@news.installshield.com...
> Folks:
> I'm using InstallShield 7.01, and I have installed the East and the
West
> packs. In case this is relevant - my project file was first created BEFORE
I
> had the EastWest packs installed. It originally only supported English. I
> have a BasicMSI installer.
>
> I added support for Japanese and Spanish. When I run the installer,
some
> things (mostly at the beginning and end of the installation process) come
up
> in Spanish or Japanese (assuming I pick those languages at installer
> startup). But - most of the dialogs in the middle show up in English.
>
> When I examine the project file, and the dialogs stored there - all
the
> different language dialogs appear in English. When I attempt to edit the
> dialogs for one language, BOTH of them get edited.
>
> Does this functionality really work with IS 7.01? What am I doing
wrong?
>
> Lewis.
>
>
>
>
>

NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c0fd1b6$1@news.installshield.com...
> A) To get Spanish and Japanese added to a project created after you
applied
> the language packs you need to import the string tables for those
languages.
> I think the strings are stored in the <Path to Developer>\languages
> directory.
>
> B) When you edit the geometry for the default language dialog it will edit
> all languages. This connection to the other languages will be broken the
> first time you edit a non default dialog. Note that control geometry must
> be different but a control must exist on all dialogs for all languages.
>
> "Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
> news:3c0fbd28$1@news.installshield.com...
> > Folks:
> > I'm using InstallShield 7.01, and I have installed the East and the
> West
> > packs. In case this is relevant - my project file was first created
BEFORE
> I
> > had the EastWest packs installed. It originally only supported English.
I
> > have a BasicMSI installer.
> >
> > I added support for Japanese and Spanish. When I run the installer,
> some
> > things (mostly at the beginning and end of the installation process)
come
> up
> > in Spanish or Japanese (assuming I pick those languages at installer
> > startup). But - most of the dialogs in the middle show up in English.
> >
> > When I examine the project file, and the dialogs stored there - all
> the
> > different language dialogs appear in English. When I attempt to edit the
> > dialogs for one language, BOTH of them get edited.
> >
> > Does this functionality really work with IS 7.01? What am I doing
> wrong?

Thanx David for your hints. That got most of my problem solved. But -
alas - not all of it.

The trouble is with the license agreement. The way that works doesn't
involve the string table. Instead - you select a control INSIDE one of the
dialogs, and edit one of its properties (File Name).

I'm guessing this MAYBE related to your "B)" hint. This file property is
being lumped together with what you called 'geometry'. I'm further guessing
that my problem stems from the fact that this 'License' dialog is a 'default
dialog'. I'm not sure how to tell if a dialog is 'default' or not. Nor -
perhaps most importantly - how to change it from being 'default to
non-default (assuming thats the only way I can fix this.

Any more clues?

Thanx again...

Lewis.

NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
I think that if you break the language associations of the license agreement
dialog by going to a non default language and tweaking the geometry a bit
just to cause the branch you should be OK.

Regards
David Thornley

"Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
news:3c0ff37d$1@news.installshield.com...
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c0fd1b6$1@news.installshield.com...
> > A) To get Spanish and Japanese added to a project created after you
> applied
> > the language packs you need to import the string tables for those
> languages.
> > I think the strings are stored in the <Path to Developer>\languages
> > directory.
> >
> > B) When you edit the geometry for the default language dialog it will
edit
> > all languages. This connection to the other languages will be broken
the
> > first time you edit a non default dialog. Note that control geometry
must
> > be different but a control must exist on all dialogs for all languages.
> >
> > "Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c0fbd28$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > Folks:
> > > I'm using InstallShield 7.01, and I have installed the East and
the
> > West
> > > packs. In case this is relevant - my project file was first created
> BEFORE
> > I
> > > had the EastWest packs installed. It originally only supported
English.
> I
> > > have a BasicMSI installer.
> > >
> > > I added support for Japanese and Spanish. When I run the
installer,
> > some
> > > things (mostly at the beginning and end of the installation process)
> come
> > up
> > > in Spanish or Japanese (assuming I pick those languages at installer
> > > startup). But - most of the dialogs in the middle show up in English.
> > >
> > > When I examine the project file, and the dialogs stored there -
all
> > the
> > > different language dialogs appear in English. When I attempt to edit
the
> > > dialogs for one language, BOTH of them get edited.
> > >
> > > Does this functionality really work with IS 7.01? What am I doing
> > wrong?
>
> Thanx David for your hints. That got most of my problem solved. But -
> alas - not all of it.
>
> The trouble is with the license agreement. The way that works doesn't
> involve the string table. Instead - you select a control INSIDE one of the
> dialogs, and edit one of its properties (File Name).
>
> I'm guessing this MAYBE related to your "B)" hint. This file property
is
> being lumped together with what you called 'geometry'. I'm further
guessing
> that my problem stems from the fact that this 'License' dialog is a
'default
> dialog'. I'm not sure how to tell if a dialog is 'default' or not. Nor -
> perhaps most importantly - how to change it from being 'default to
> non-default (assuming thats the only way I can fix this.
>
> Any more clues?
>
> Thanx again...
>
> Lewis.
>
>
>

NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
You can see the setup's default language by looking at the General
Information View. The language leaf with the red arrow is the default one.

"Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
news:3c0ff37d$1@news.installshield.com...
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c0fd1b6$1@news.installshield.com...
> > A) To get Spanish and Japanese added to a project created after you
> applied
> > the language packs you need to import the string tables for those
> languages.
> > I think the strings are stored in the <Path to Developer>\languages
> > directory.
> >
> > B) When you edit the geometry for the default language dialog it will
edit
> > all languages. This connection to the other languages will be broken
the
> > first time you edit a non default dialog. Note that control geometry
must
> > be different but a control must exist on all dialogs for all languages.
> >
> > "Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c0fbd28$1@news.installshield.com...
> > > Folks:
> > > I'm using InstallShield 7.01, and I have installed the East and
the
> > West
> > > packs. In case this is relevant - my project file was first created
> BEFORE
> > I
> > > had the EastWest packs installed. It originally only supported
English.
> I
> > > have a BasicMSI installer.
> > >
> > > I added support for Japanese and Spanish. When I run the
installer,
> > some
> > > things (mostly at the beginning and end of the installation process)
> come
> > up
> > > in Spanish or Japanese (assuming I pick those languages at installer
> > > startup). But - most of the dialogs in the middle show up in English.
> > >
> > > When I examine the project file, and the dialogs stored there -
all
> > the
> > > different language dialogs appear in English. When I attempt to edit
the
> > > dialogs for one language, BOTH of them get edited.
> > >
> > > Does this functionality really work with IS 7.01? What am I doing
> > wrong?
>
> Thanx David for your hints. That got most of my problem solved. But -
> alas - not all of it.
>
> The trouble is with the license agreement. The way that works doesn't
> involve the string table. Instead - you select a control INSIDE one of the
> dialogs, and edit one of its properties (File Name).
>
> I'm guessing this MAYBE related to your "B)" hint. This file property
is
> being lumped together with what you called 'geometry'. I'm further
guessing
> that my problem stems from the fact that this 'License' dialog is a
'default
> dialog'. I'm not sure how to tell if a dialog is 'default' or not. Nor -
> perhaps most importantly - how to change it from being 'default to
> non-default (assuming thats the only way I can fix this.
>
> Any more clues?
>
> Thanx again...
>
> Lewis.
>
>
>

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c0ff406$1@news.installshield.com...
> I think that if you break the language associations of the license
agreement
> dialog by going to a non default language and tweaking the geometry a bit
> just to cause the branch you should be OK.
.....
> > The trouble is with the license agreement. The way that works
doesn't
> > involve the string table. Instead - you select a control INSIDE one of
the
> > dialogs, and edit one of its properties (File Name).
> >
> > I'm guessing this MAYBE related to your "B)" hint. This file
property
> is
> > being lumped together with what you called 'geometry'. I'm further
> guessing
> > that my problem stems from the fact that this 'License' dialog is a
> 'default
> > dialog'. I'm not sure how to tell if a dialog is 'default' or not. Nor -
> > perhaps most importantly - how to change it from being 'default to
> > non-default (assuming thats the only way I can fix this.


"Marwan Tabet" <noreply@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c0ff6ea$1@news.installshield.com...
> You can see the setup's default language by looking at the General
> Information View. The language leaf with the red arrow is the default one.
>


I have three languages - English, Spanish and Japanese. English is the
default langauge. When I edit the dialog after selecting ANY of the
languages in the tree view, I get the same results. ALL edits affect all the
others.

This is a fairly weak UI. There should be some easy way to break the
association, and some easy way to re-associate. But for now - I'd settle for
a bad way that worked ;-)

Thanx for your help...


Lewis.

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
How are you tewaking the UI?(What dialog and control) You will not be able
to delete controls, only change their dimensions and settings. This is
working for me. However I am running a later build so it may have been
broken in 7.01 and is now fixed for me.


"Lewis Gordon Pringle, Jr." <lewis@sophists.com> wrote in message
news:3c10f1a4$1@news.installshield.com...
>
> "David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c0ff406$1@news.installshield.com...
> > I think that if you break the language associations of the license
> agreement
> > dialog by going to a non default language and tweaking the geometry a
bit
> > just to cause the branch you should be OK.
> ....
> > > The trouble is with the license agreement. The way that works
> doesn't
> > > involve the string table. Instead - you select a control INSIDE one of
> the
> > > dialogs, and edit one of its properties (File Name).
> > >
> > > I'm guessing this MAYBE related to your "B)" hint. This file
> property
> > is
> > > being lumped together with what you called 'geometry'. I'm further
> > guessing
> > > that my problem stems from the fact that this 'License' dialog is a
> > 'default
> > > dialog'. I'm not sure how to tell if a dialog is 'default' or not.
Nor -
> > > perhaps most importantly - how to change it from being 'default to
> > > non-default (assuming thats the only way I can fix this.
>
>
> "Marwan Tabet" <noreply@installshield.com> wrote in message
> news:3c0ff6ea$1@news.installshield.com...
> > You can see the setup's default language by looking at the General
> > Information View. The language leaf with the red arrow is the default
one.
> >
>
>
> I have three languages - English, Spanish and Japanese. English is the
> default langauge. When I edit the dialog after selecting ANY of the
> languages in the tree view, I get the same results. ALL edits affect all
the
> others.
>
> This is a fairly weak UI. There should be some easy way to break the
> association, and some easy way to re-associate. But for now - I'd settle
for
> a bad way that worked ;-)
>
> Thanx for your help...
>
>
> Lewis.
>
>

NewsArchive
12-07-2001, 01:00 AM
"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c10f416$1@news.installshield.com...
> How are you tewaking the UI?(What dialog and control) You will not be
able
> to delete controls, only change their dimensions and settings. This is
> working for me. However I am running a later build so it may have been
> broken in 7.01 and is now fixed for me.

How CAN I tweek the UI? I select teh Dialogs/LicenseDialog/English item
in the tree view on the left. I see the dialog. I then nudge the controls
this way and that. Why would I delete controls? I don't want to do
ANYTHINGto these controls. I just want to be able to enter in different file
names for different languages of the license.

I'm using 7.01. If this is fixed in some new version - I guess I need
that new version. When is the next version going to be released? Aren;'t
there ANY workarounds? There must be SOME way todo this. Right?

Is there something I can do in the Direct Editor? How do I tell if a
dialog is 'shared' or if there are multiple copies per language? What is the
nomenclature you use internally for this distinction?

Lewis.