PDA

View Full Version : Hidden features are still installed... Pls help...



NewsArchive
06-29-2000, 12:00 AM
It's article Q103163, "HOWTO: Disabling Features at Run Time", at
http://support.installshield.com.

"David Cole" <dlcole3@ibm.net> wrote in message
news:3958F02B.1574B223@ibm.net...
> Mike,
>
> You can use a feature condition to set a feature's install level to 0,
which
> makes it disabled (invisible and unselected). There's an InstallShield
> knowledgebase atricle on the topic.

NewsArchive
06-29-2000, 12:00 AM
It's article Q103163, "HOWTO: Disabling Features at Run Time", at
http://support.installshield.com.

"David Cole" <dlcole3@ibm.net> wrote in message
news:3958F02B.1574B223@ibm.net...
> Mike,
>
> You can use a feature condition to set a feature's install level to 0,
which
> makes it disabled (invisible and unselected). There's an InstallShield
> knowledgebase atricle on the topic.

Dyerald
12-28-2001, 01:16 AM
Hi,

I'm using ISDev 7.02 and I made a standard project that hides specific features based on the serial number the user has entered on the Customer Infofmation dialog. So I used FeatureSetData and FeatureSelectItem on "case NEXT:" of the Customer Information dialog in a like this...

if (FeatureSetupTypeSet (MEDIA, "Custom") < 0) then
MessageBox ("FeatureSetupTypeSet failed.", SEVERE);
endif;

// if "0" the program will hidden and will not be installed

if (StrCompare(svPrograms,"0")=0) then
FeatureSelectItem (MEDIA, "Programs", FALSE);
FeatureSetData (MEDIA, "Programs", FEATURE_FIELD_VISIBLE, FALSE, "");
else
FeatureSelectItem (MEDIA, "Programs", TRUE);
FeatureSetData (MEDIA, "Programs", FEATURE_FIELD_VISIBLE, TRUE, "");
endif;

and so on.....

My project succesfully hide the feature but when I installed it, the hidden features was still installed. It seems that the FeatureSelectItem was did not deselect the feature. I cheked it using FeatureIsItemSelected, all the features hidden and deselected by script was was returned TRUE maybe that's why it's still installed... Any Idea on how to solve this???... Im really confused... Is there something wrong on my code? I need help as soon as possible.

Please help... I would be very grateful fo any help. Thanks in advance.

Dyerald








:confused: