PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Installs(copies) of the same product

Dave Carpentier
12-20-2001, 05:05 PM
I'm new to IS6, but have used IS5 for years. Some of our products are designed to be installed on a W2K server multiple times, either of the same version(level) or of different versions all operating together sharing some common files and services. The advantage of this is that a customer can test a production version while also using a "newer test" version or even older
versions at the same time or have two or more of same versions running. With IS5 I have the script setup to create unique entires in the registry for each version. The uninstallation keys for each installed copy are also unique. When looking at using IS6(event based scripts) I've been stymied by the use of GUID's for the installation as every copy of the same install would use the same GUID.

How do I differentiate each installation so it's unique? Is this even the right question?
Thanks for any info...

Dave

tonoe_cn
12-20-2001, 10:34 PM
project\settings\ Gernnal\new GUID

tw0001
12-20-2001, 11:01 PM
not easy. You can't generate a new GUID at runtime - all the installations are going to be shared, unfortunately, unless you change the GUID manually every time you build.

Dave Carpentier
12-21-2001, 06:29 AM
I need a new GUID at runtime I believe, not at build time! There doesn't seem to be anyway to do this! Anybody have any ideas on now to install multiple copies of the same product and be able to then deinstall just one of the copies or upgrade just one of the copies? I have to believe somebody out there has installations that do just this with IS6(event driven)...

Dave

JacobLevin
12-21-2001, 09:57 AM
Unfortunately you can't install the same product to multiple locations and have them be treated like sepereate products.

We are planning on providing this ability in our next major release of the Professional product.

Dave Carpentier
12-21-2001, 10:21 AM