PDA

View Full Version : EXECUTABLE or one of its components not found



NewsArchive
02-04-1998, 01:00 AM
After installing my app w/ ISX2, when I try to run it, I get the
message:

"FMGRW.EXE or one of its components not found" (FMGRW.EXE is the main
executable).

I have compared the install directory contents to the file directory,
and everything matches, so I know all of the files are there, and the
program runs fine from the file directory. It just won't run from the
install directory.

Anybody got a clue what would cause this?

NewsArchive
02-04-1998, 01:00 AM
Hi John,
If you are running this app from a shortcut, make sure your 'Run Command' is
correct. When specifying it, make sure you don't hard code any paths. Use
the browse button to make sure you are using the correct relative path (i.e.
<INSTALLDIR>\fmgrw.exe). You may have to also set the 'Start In' value.
Make sure you use the correct relative path here as well (i.e.
<INSTALLDIR>).
--
Rich
InstallShield Software Corp.


P.S. Our website, http://www.installshield.com/, covers a wide range of
resources for your installation development. Read technical whitepapers,
view documentation or search the Knowledge Base to get support information
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

John Wollner wrote in message <34D87033.7EA39779@home.com>...
>After installing my app w/ ISX2, when I try to run it, I get the
>message:
>
>"FMGRW.EXE or one of its components not found" (FMGRW.EXE is the main
>executable).
>
>I have compared the install directory contents to the file directory,
>and everything matches, so I know all of the files are there, and the
>program runs fine from the file directory. It just won't run from the
>install directory.
>
>Anybody got a clue what would cause this?
>

NewsArchive
02-10-1998, 01:00 AM
InstallShield Corp. wrote:

> Hi John,
> If you are running this app from a shortcut, make sure your 'Run Command' is
> correct. When specifying it, make sure you don't hard code any paths. Use
> the browse button to make sure you are using the correct relative path (i.e.
> <INSTALLDIR>\fmgrw.exe). You may have to also set the 'Start In' value.
> Make sure you use the correct relative path here as well (i.e.
> <INSTALLDIR>).
> --
> Rich
> InstallShield Software Corp.
>
> P.S. Our website, http://www.installshield.com/, covers a wide range of
> resources for your installation development. Read technical whitepapers,
> view documentation or search the Knowledge Base to get support information
> 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
>

In past installations, this element was not set and it worked fine. Now it
doesn't.
Any other ideas?