PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade Eligibility



NewsArchive
01-17-1998, 01:00 AM
We got InstallShield Express v1.1 with Delphi 3.01. Are we eligible to
upgrade to Express 2.01??

NewsArchive
01-18-1998, 01:00 AM
On Sat, 17 Jan 1998 14:31:34 -0500, John Crouch <jcrouch@expocard.com>
wrote:
>We got InstallShield Express v1.1 with Delphi 3.01. Are we eligible to
>upgrade to Express 2.01??

John,

the best is to call InstallShield and ask. I believe you will pay $195 or
so for the upgrade (according to the Order form on the site).

Stefan
ellipse data systems

NewsArchive
03-06-2000, 01:00 AM
Yes, I could set the property to permanent, but how would I get the Install
to re-install and not remove? That is the main problem I am having. I don't
want to have to make the user un-install his old version and then install
the new one. I would rather just install over there existing package and
upgrade it if that is possible. Any ideas of how I might accomplish this?

-Chris Juffre
christopher.juffre@eastmansoftware.com

Robert M. Dickau
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
installshield.com> wrote in message
news:38c32d61.0@news.installshield.com...
> Could you set the "Never Overwrite" attribute for the components
containing
> the configuration files?
>
> Chris Juffre wrote in message <38c021f5.0@news.installshield.com>...
> >[...] All the files should
> >be overwritten - EXCEPT for the configuration files. How would I
accomplish
> >this task? Thanks very much.
>
> Robert M. Dickau
> Senior Technical Trainer
> InstallShield Software Corp.
> www.installshield.com/training
>
>

NewsArchive
03-06-2000, 01:00 AM
Not the "Permanent" component attribute, but the "Never Overwrite" attribute
(new to ISWI 1.1). From the Windows Installer help page "Component Table":

"If this bit is set, the installer does not install or reinstall the
component if a key path file or a key path registry entry for the component
already exists. The application does register itself as a client of the
component."

Chris Juffre wrote in message <38c417e4.0@news.installshield.com>...
>Yes, I could set the property to permanent, but how would I get the Install
>to re-install and not remove? That is the main problem I am having. I don't
>want to have to make the user un-install his old version and then install
>the new one. I would rather just install over there existing package and
>upgrade it if that is possible. Any ideas of how I might accomplish this?

>> Could you set the "Never Overwrite" attribute for the components
>> containing the configuration files?

NewsArchive
03-07-2000, 01:00 AM
This will not work, because if the user tries to reinstall with the same
package, they must uninstall first. Is there a way to just re-install over
the existing instead of removing the old installation first?

Chris Juffre
christopher.juffre@eastmansoftware.com


<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_email_but_i_don't@
installshield.com> wrote in message
news:38c45870.0@news.installshield.com...
> Not the "Permanent" component attribute, but the "Never Overwrite"
attribute
> (new to ISWI 1.1). From the Windows Installer help page "Component Table":
>
> "If this bit is set, the installer does not install or reinstall the
> component if a key path file or a key path registry entry for the
component
> already exists. The application does register itself as a client of the
> component."
>
> Chris Juffre wrote in message <38c417e4.0@news.installshield.com>...
> >Yes, I could set the property to permanent, but how would I get the
Install
> >to re-install and not remove? That is the main problem I am having. I
don't
> >want to have to make the user un-install his old version and then install
> >the new one. I would rather just install over there existing package and
> >upgrade it if that is possible. Any ideas of how I might accomplish this?
>
> >> Could you set the "Never Overwrite" attribute for the components
> >> containing the configuration files?
>
>
>
>
>

NewsArchive
08-22-2000, 12:00 AM
Cheers Jon

Yeh it is a dial up connection. I'll get intouch with them


Cheers
Lee
Jon Petruska <jonathanp@mentergy.com> wrote in message
news:39a275df$1@12.41.20.38...
> Try contacting IS and see if they can send it on a cd. I take it your on a
> dial up connection? On a t-1 it only took a short time.. like under a 1/2
> hour...
>
> --
> Jon Petruska
> Software Engineer
> Mentergy, LearnLinc Division
> jonathanp@learnlinc.com
> www.learnlinc.com
> "LeeBoy" <lee@transarts.freeserve.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:39a24214$1@12.41.20.38...
> > Hi
> >
> > I am currently using Installshield 6.02, and would like to upgrade to
6.1.
> I
> > have just been to the website to download and started to download the
> > upgrade, and it estimated the download to 8 hours! (78Mb) is this right?
> >
> > Are there any other methods of upgrading?
> >
> >
> >
> > Thanks
> >
> > --
> >
> > Transart Studio 2000
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
03-06-2001, 01:00 AM
It all becomes a little clearer....
peter richards
"Chandima Rajakaruna" <no reply@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3aa45cd9$1@12.41.20.38...
> When creating Version 3, you could create 2 upgrade paths. One for
Version1
> and one for Version 2.
>
> I have also heard of some people using the same Upgrade Code for all the
> versions (while the Product Code changes). But I am not too sure about
that
> cos that means if someone runs a Version2 setup, it could potentially
> uninstall the Version1 as well as the Version 3 program.
>
> "Peter Richards" <PRichards@claimsubmission.com> wrote in message
> news:3aa278f2@12.41.20.38...
> > In a previous message, you wrote:
> > Suppose youhave two versions of a product. Version 1 was distributed and
> now
> > you want
> > to distribute Version 2. So in your Version 2 Express project, you
create
> an
> > Upgrade Path which has Version 1's Upgrade Code. This way when Version 2
> is
> > installed, if it finds Version 1 on the machine, it'll silently
uninstall
> it
> > and then install Version 2.
> > That much is now clear.( though where it is detailed in the
documentation
> is
> > obscure)
> > If I now have version 2, do I generate a new GUID for version 2 and a
new
> > GUID for the upgrade path on the General Information tab? and use this
> > upgrade GUID in Version3. in which case what do I do if a user skips a
> > version upgrade. Or do I use version 1's code all the time and never
> change
> > it?
> > Clarity on this issue would be appreciated.
> > peter richards
> >
> >
>
>