PDA

View Full Version : ISEPro screwing up WFWG



NewsArchive
05-27-1997, 12:00 AM
I am having the same problem as an unanswered post in
installshield.express.vb back on December 4 ...

Install shield Xpress Pro 1.11a - installing a VB3 app into WFWG 3.11
After the user reboots, error messages start popping up and Windows common
programs no longer function, saying they require a newer version of
Windows.

This has happened on two machines (the same distribution disks work fine on
a Windows 95 install). Windows could not be re-installed to try and correct
the problem, so one of my customers had to delete Windows and then
reinstall it. After, on this machine, I reinstalled my program just by
copying in the required files that I had originally placed in the
InstallShield setup. Everything worked, therefore I must assume it's a
problem with InstallShield.

I didn't have this problem before I upgraded to 1.11a

When creating the install setup, I didn't let Installshield select any
files for me, I added them all myself. I used the 16 bit install and the
undelete feature. I called technical support and they're stumped. Since
this not an isolated case, perhaps they should get unstumped.

--
Mark Lewis
Corporate Consultants
"There are always alternatives"

NewsArchive
05-27-1997, 12:00 AM
What files did you copy into the windows and windows system directories?

Jason P. Wilcox
Manager, Desktop Solutions
4C Solutions Inc.
http://www.4cs.com
jasonw@4cs.com

Mark Lewis <mark@ccxpress.com> wrote in article
<01bc6abf$d606d100$133a96cd@p200>...
> I am having the same problem as an unanswered post in
> installshield.express.vb back on December 4 ...
>
> Install shield Xpress Pro 1.11a - installing a VB3 app into WFWG 3.11
> After the user reboots, error messages start popping up and Windows
common
> programs no longer function, saying they require a newer version of
> Windows.
>
> This has happened on two machines (the same distribution disks work fine
on
> a Windows 95 install). Windows could not be re-installed to try and
correct
> the problem, so one of my customers had to delete Windows and then
> reinstall it. After, on this machine, I reinstalled my program just by
> copying in the required files that I had originally placed in the
> InstallShield setup. Everything worked, therefore I must assume it's a
> problem with InstallShield.
>
> I didn't have this problem before I upgraded to 1.11a
>
> When creating the install setup, I didn't let Installshield select any
> files for me, I added them all myself. I used the 16 bit install and the
> undelete feature. I called technical support and they're stumped. Since
> this not an isolated case, perhaps they should get unstumped.
>
> --
> Mark Lewis
> Corporate Consultants
> "There are always alternatives"
>
>

NewsArchive
05-27-1997, 12:00 AM
Nothing that hasn't been installed on WFWG machines countless times before
over the past two years. I believe the problem originates from files used
by InstallShield since installing the files manually doesn't create a
problem.


Jason P. Wilcox <jasonw@4cs.com> wrote in article
<01bc6ad3$7965a700$3d0d8bce@jasonw>...
> What files did you copy into the windows and windows system directories?

NewsArchive
05-27-1997, 12:00 AM
What files did you copy into the windows and windows system directories?

Jason P. Wilcox
Manager, Desktop Solutions
4C Solutions Inc.
http://www.4cs.com
jasonw@4cs.com

Mark Lewis <mark@ccxpress.com> wrote in article
<01bc6abf$d606d100$133a96cd@p200>...
> I am having the same problem as an unanswered post in
> installshield.express.vb back on December 4 ...
>
> Install shield Xpress Pro 1.11a - installing a VB3 app into WFWG 3.11
> After the user reboots, error messages start popping up and Windows
common
> programs no longer function, saying they require a newer version of
> Windows.
>
> This has happened on two machines (the same distribution disks work fine
on
> a Windows 95 install). Windows could not be re-installed to try and
correct
> the problem, so one of my customers had to delete Windows and then
> reinstall it. After, on this machine, I reinstalled my program just by
> copying in the required files that I had originally placed in the
> InstallShield setup. Everything worked, therefore I must assume it's a
> problem with InstallShield.
>
> I didn't have this problem before I upgraded to 1.11a
>
> When creating the install setup, I didn't let Installshield select any
> files for me, I added them all myself. I used the 16 bit install and the
> undelete feature. I called technical support and they're stumped. Since
> this not an isolated case, perhaps they should get unstumped.
>
> --
> Mark Lewis
> Corporate Consultants
> "There are always alternatives"
>
>

NewsArchive
05-27-1997, 12:00 AM
Nothing that hasn't been installed on WFWG machines countless times before
over the past two years. I believe the problem originates from files used
by InstallShield since installing the files manually doesn't create a
problem.


Jason P. Wilcox <jasonw@4cs.com> wrote in article
<01bc6ad3$7965a700$3d0d8bce@jasonw>...
> What files did you copy into the windows and windows system directories?