PDA

View Full Version : Icons on Start Up



NewsArchive
10-20-1997, 12:00 AM
I'm developing programs in delphi 2.0 and i want
to create an installation program. The problem is that the program
created by install shield is putting on start-up a folder and an icon
and i want just want the icon.
Another question: I want to pass a install path to Install shield
in the time the user is doing the installation. Is it possible?

Thanks in advanced.

NewsArchive
10-20-1997, 12:00 AM
On Mon, 20 Oct 1997 17:26:32 -0700, Luciano Cavallini Cyrillo
<lccyrill@mandic.com.br> wrote:
>created by install shield is putting on start-up a folder and an icon
>and i want just want the icon.

That is the preferred way to do it. However ISX Pro 1.x and Express 2.x
have an option that will allow you to specify if you want that icon
directly on the start bar. It is under "Specify Icons and Folders" |
"Advanced Settings"

> Another question: I want to pass a install path to Install shield
>in the time the user is doing the installation. Is it possible?

The installpath is kept in a specifier called <INSTALLDIR>. Read your
online help and search for "specifiers".

Stefan
ellipse data systems

NewsArchive
10-21-1997, 12:00 AM
Stefan Paetow wrote:
>
> On Mon, 20 Oct 1997 17:26:32 -0700, Luciano Cavallini Cyrillo
> <lccyrill@mandic.com.br> wrote:
> >created by install shield is putting on start-up a folder and an icon
> >and i want just want the icon.
>
> That is the preferred way to do it. However ISX Pro 1.x and Express 2.x
> have an option that will allow you to specify if you want that icon
> directly on the start bar. It is under "Specify Icons and Folders" |
> "Advanced Settings"
>
> > Another question: I want to pass a install path to Install shield
> >in the time the user is doing the installation. Is it possible?
>
> The installpath is kept in a specifier called <INSTALLDIR>. Read your
> online help and search for "specifiers".
>
> Stefan
> ellipse data systems

Stefan, I think, I coudn't explain myself clearly.
In fact, I have two programs of installation. The Install Shield,
and another called "Hand-Prot" that makes the security of my program.
When a user is installing the program, first he executes Hand-Prot and
choose a Install-Path for it. Then he executes the Install Shield, and
i want to pass the same Install path (of hand-prot)
to install Shield, so that the user don't need to put it again.
That is the real problem.
Thanks in advance. Luciano C. Cyrillo.

NewsArchive
10-23-1997, 12:00 AM
On Tue, 21 Oct 1997 23:31:18 -0700, Luciano Cavallini Cyrillo
<lccyrill@mandic.com.br> wrote:
>and another called "Hand-Prot" that makes the security of my program.
>When a user is installing the program, first he executes Hand-Prot and
>choose a Install-Path for it. Then he executes the Install Shield, and

I see! What you can do is the following: In your InstallShield project you
can call an extension that will retrieve the path of Hand-Prot. Then the
extension changes the installation path parameter that is passed to it.
Then your InstallShield setup can use that.

You can look up how extensions are written and deployed/used in the
InstallShield Knowledge Base. It is very detailed.

Stefan
ellipse data systems