PDA

View Full Version : Error in user interface when doing update from ShellExecute



PrimuSlo
01-15-2019, 02:57 AM
I'm developing minor upgrade installer for our software. The project is InstallScript MSI. When the installer is doing first-time installation there are no bugs in the user interface. When we are doing upgrade there is an error in copy files dialogue. The error can be seen in the attached picture:
11612
We also found out that this error happens when we run installer from command line (as ShellExecute) in our software (as a part of automatic updater feature). When installer is ran outside of command line it works normally. Should i set any parameters in our software when calling from command line or is this normal?

rguggisberg
01-15-2019, 08:26 AM
Perhaps you need to 'Run as administrator' ?

PrimuSlo
01-17-2019, 02:06 AM
Perhaps you need to 'Run as administrator' ?

Thanks for the response.

When I run the software with ShellExecute the UAC prompts which asks for admin rights. Also in InstallShield, I selected that installer needs the highest execution level.

Jenifer
01-18-2019, 05:08 AM
Thanks for the response.

When I run the software with ShellExecute the UAC prompts which asks for admin rights. Also in InstallShield, I selected that installer needs the highest execution level.

Hi,

The attachment isn't clear,can you text the error code or issue you are facing.Does your issue get solved by running software as administrator?


Thanks,
Jenifer