PDA

View Full Version : Modifying setup.exe after it was built



sk1f23
10-25-2018, 06:35 PM
Our product relies on modifying VERSION resource information on the setup.exe to personalize the installation for our customers.

Everything worked fine until we purchased IS 2018. The setup.exe built in IS 2018 becomes unusable (size changes from 8Mb to 1.2Mb).

On top of it after installing IS 2018 our IS 2010 deactivated itself so we no longer can build installation packages for production.

Please help!

Jenifer
10-28-2018, 09:06 AM
Our product relies on modifying VERSION resource information on the setup.exe to personalize the installation for our customers.

Everything worked fine until we purchased IS 2018. The setup.exe built in IS 2018 becomes unusable (size changes from 8Mb to 1.2Mb).

On top of it after installing IS 2018 our IS 2010 deactivated itself so we no longer can build installation packages for production.

Please help!

Hi ,

Can you please explain a bit more to understand the issue?

-What do you want to acheive from InstallShield-IDE?-Version change ?
-The setup.exe built in IS 2018 becomes unusable (size changes from 8Mb to 1.2Mb). -Unusable means what?-Is it IS2018/IS2018-SP1/IS2018-R2?
-On top of it after installing IS 2018 our IS 2010 deactivated itself so we no longer can build installation packages for production. ?-It may not be the case how installshield deals with licensing.Different products can co-exist on same machine?

Thanks,
Jenifer

rguggisberg
10-29-2018, 09:58 AM
"On top of it after installing IS 2018 our IS 2010 deactivated itself so we no longer can build installation packages for production. "

If you happen to be building from TFS... keep in mind that TFS will use the last version of InstallShield that was installed or repaired.