PDA

View Full Version : Can I set a Registry Key (Branch) from a Property Value?



DataAnalyzer
06-27-2018, 05:49 PM
I have multiple version releases in one ISM file, each with its own version number.

Each version stores its registry in a version key (branch/folder) like this:


HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Company/ProductName/10.0
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Company/ProductName/11.0
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Company/ProductName/12.0
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Company/ProductName/13.0
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Company/ProductName/14.0
etc.

Each version has the same elements. I currently have a separate Component with the registry settings for each version, which is a hassle to keep in synch when changes occur.

Can I have one registry component and designate the version key as a property that's assigned for each release? Thanks.

Jenifer
06-28-2018, 08:08 AM
Hi DataAnalyzer,

Yes,you can.For example, if you would like to store the destination location of your software, create a registry value whose data is [INSTALLDIR].

Please refer this link:http://helpnet.flexerasoftware.com/installshield23helplib/helplibrary/FAQRegistryWritingProps.htm

Thanks,

DataAnalyzer
06-28-2018, 10:10 AM
Hi DataAnalyzer,

Yes,you can.For example, if you would like to store the destination location of your software, create a registry value whose data is [INSTALLDIR].

Please refer this link:http://helpnet.flexerasoftware.com/installshield23helplib/helplibrary/FAQRegistryWritingProps.htm

Thanks,

Thanks Jenifer. I may have confused you with my request. I'm not seeking to save a property value in the registry. I have that working.

I want to change the KEY name and make that dependent on a property value. Rather than having a bunch of components with registry settings for different keys, I'd like to have something like this:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Company/ProductName/[RELEASE_VERSION]

where each release can set its RELEASE_VERSION value. Is that possible?

Stefan Krueger
07-24-2018, 09:23 AM
Have you tried setting the key name to [RELEASE_VERSION] ?

DataAnalyzer
07-24-2018, 11:16 AM
Have you tried setting the key name to [RELEASE_VERSION] ?

I haven't tried that. If that works, that'd be wonderful. Thanks!