PDA

View Full Version : Conditional Merge Modules



NewsArchive
12-05-2001, 01:00 AM
How do you conditionally install a merge module based on the existence of a
registry key?

NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
Your setup does not technically install merge modules, merge modules add
components to your setup that follow the same rules as other
components...but because they are packaged redistributables that can not be
easily modified to add conditions. The best thing to do is to not install
the Feature that you associated that merge module with.

Regards
David Thornley
"Me" <Me@this.com> wrote in message news:3c0eb926@news.installshield.com...
> How do you conditionally install a merge module based on the existence of
a
> registry key?
>
>

NewsArchive
12-06-2001, 01:00 AM
Thanks David, I didn't think of merge modules that way. I created a 'Not
Visible' feature where I placed the merge module and the condition I need,
everything works as planned.

Thanks for your help,
Randy Patterson

"David Thornley" <davidt@installshield.com> wrote in message
news:3c0fdf05@news.installshield.com...
> Your setup does not technically install merge modules, merge modules add
> components to your setup that follow the same rules as other
> components...but because they are packaged redistributables that can not
be
> easily modified to add conditions. The best thing to do is to not install
> the Feature that you associated that merge module with.
>
> Regards
> David Thornley
> "Me" <Me@this.com> wrote in message
news:3c0eb926@news.installshield.com...
> > How do you conditionally install a merge module based on the existence
of
> a
> > registry key?
> >
> >
>
>