PDA

View Full Version : Setting Action Text for Chained Msi



madiganz
01-31-2017, 01:29 PM
Currently, my chained msi always appears behind my main msi. This may cause the user to not know that anything is actually happening.

I have done some reason into a fix for this and it appears that it is a windows installer problem and that there is no real fix for it.

In order to inform the user that a second installer has been launched, I would like to display text in the SetupProgress dialog. I have tried to add actiontext (added one for ISChainPackagePrepare) and I did not see anything.

Is there a way to do this?

Thanks

rguggisberg
01-31-2017, 03:37 PM
I had a similar problem with my Suite install. Take a look at this post
https://community.flexerasoftware.com/showthread.php?220107-Bring-Suite-Window-to-Front&highlight=

madiganz
01-31-2017, 03:56 PM
Thank you for your reply. I am not sure that solutions applies to my problem because I am using a Basic MSI.
I must have forgotten to clarify this when describing my problem. My apologies.

rguggisberg
01-31-2017, 05:15 PM
You can still modify the Custom Action to fit your needs and get the same functionality.

madiganz
01-31-2017, 06:08 PM
It is not a custom action that launches the 2nd msi. It is run as a chained msi, which I believe uses Installshields dlls