PDA

View Full Version : Another version is installed...



MaxNegev
02-25-2016, 09:41 AM
Dear friends,
I want my setup will update an old version of my product.
Though I put in Major Upgrade Style "Complete Uninstall then Reinstall" and change version from 1.2 to 2.0
if I run setup on computer with old version (1.2) I get "Another version is installed...".
What I do wrong ?

Cygnusx1
03-03-2016, 12:44 PM
read help on Major Upgrades
generate new PackageCode & ProductCode GUIDs

Red Baron
03-11-2016, 08:21 AM
read help on Major Upgrades
generate new PackageCode & ProductCode GUIDs

Hi,

we have the same problem with InstallShield 2015 LE from within Visual Studio.
We also changed the Product code and provided an upgrad path.

On contrast to online help, there is no possibility to change the package code, so we didn't.

When we don't change Product Code, we get the message as mention by the guy in the thread before.
No automatic uninstall.

When we change the code, we get a parallel installation an the old version stays on disk.

Is it possible to do an full upgrade installation with Inst-Shield 2015 LE ?

How can we change the package code?
Help file ist NOT consitent with Intall Shield UI.

Thanks and best regards
RB

MrTree
03-15-2016, 11:06 AM
Hi,

I handle it in that way, X means Change

Update | Package Code | Product Version | Product Code | Upgrade Code
Small Update | X | |
Minor Upgrade | X | X |
Major Upgrade | X | X | X


So for a Major upgrade you have to Change PackageCode (InstallShield Regenerates this code automatically on a new build), ProductVersion and ProductCode.

Edit: my table sucks :mad:

Red Baron
03-15-2016, 04:58 PM
Hi,

So for a Major upgrade you have to Change PackageCode (InstallShield Regenerates this code automatically on a new build), ProductVersion and ProductCode.

Edit: my table sucks :mad:

Thanks for the answer.
As I already wrote,, we did it with no consequences for the Installation.
See thread above.