PDA

View Full Version : Can you configure a new patch from Installshield Automation Interface?



scottd72
08-12-2014, 03:12 PM
I would like to be able to create patches from a command line in order to automate our patch building process. I do not want to have to go into the Installshield IDE and create new patch configurations. Can patch creation on-the-fly from a command line be done?

Note: Just to clarify, I already know how to build patches by using iscmdbld.exe, I'm asking how to create new patch configurations from a command line.

JSClark
08-12-2014, 04:30 PM
Use -patch_config

See: http://helpnet.flexerasoftware.com/installshield18helplib/ISCmdBldParam.htm

as in:

%INSTALLSHIELD_SABUILD_FOLDER%\System\IsCmdBld.exe -p "%PATH_TO_ISM_FILE%\IShield.ism" -patch_config "PatchConfigurationName"
Where PatchConfigurationName is the name under Meda -> Patch Design -> PatchConfigurationName

scottd72
08-13-2014, 07:22 AM
Thank you for your reply, however, let me reiterate: "I already know how to build patches by using iscmdbld.exe, I'm asking how to create new patch configurations from a command line."

scottd72
08-14-2014, 09:34 AM
After looking more into this, the Automation Interface does not have a solution for this. It seems as though I can create a generic patch configuration in my project file, save it, and from there I can automate a process that opens the .ism as an xml and add/modify entries under <table name="ISTargetImage"> as needed, and it would not be too difficult. But adding this capability into a future release of the automation interface would be great.

ssuriyap
09-01-2014, 02:00 AM
I can create the patch configuration.
I basically want to take the build versions (latest1 & previous1) to patch dynamically in the build machine and extract the MSIs for patching. Can the extraction of files from MSI be automated ?

scottd72
09-01-2014, 01:38 PM
Can the extraction of files from MSI be automated ?

Yes it can. Type: msiexec /a <path to your msi file>.msi TARGETDIR=<path to extraction folder> /qn

ssuriyap
09-01-2014, 11:57 PM
yeah, thanks for sharing this. even the msi can also be extracted from setup.exe to specific location with /b switch.


Yes it can. Type: msiexec /a <path to your msi file>.msi TARGETDIR=<path to extraction folder> /qn