PDA

View Full Version : Repackage Office Professional 2010 SP1



Alex_12
10-25-2013, 04:13 AM
Dear All,

I am seeking for a best practice on how-to repackage MS Office Pro 2010 SP1 using adminStudio 2013.

Your support is very much appreciated ;-)

Kind regards,
Alex

Mistral
10-25-2013, 06:04 AM
Wow ... never repackage a vendors MSI ... especially not MS Office.

Use the "Office Customization Tool" from Microsoft:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc179099(v=office.14).aspx

Alex_12
10-25-2013, 07:41 AM
Wow ... never repackage a vendors MSI ... especially not MS Office.

Use the "Office Customization Tool" from Microsoft:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc179099(v=office.14).aspx

Many thanks for your prompt reply Mistral.

I have a volume licensed versions of Office 2010 that I need to customize before repackaging it, for that as you suggested, I cutumized it with OCT and generate the .msp which I then added under the "Updates" folder. For your information, I did not find the windows installer MSI file, I only found the setup.exe. That is why I thought of using the adminStudio 2013 to repackage it along with the .msp I generated using the OCT.

Mistral
10-25-2013, 09:27 AM
The MSIs (lots of them) are encapsulated and extracted during installation (to temporary folders and C:\MSOcache).

Setup.exe is what we call a bootstrapper.

Do not repackage it, do not transform it (Using other tools than OCT).

Office is very special and even using XML-Files during installation to "transform".

Alex_12
10-25-2013, 09:50 AM
The MSIs (lots of them) are encapsulated and extracted during installation (to temporary folders and C:\MSOcache).

Setup.exe is what we call a bootstrapper.

Do not repackage it, do not transform it (Using other tools than OCT).

Office is very special and even using XML-Files during installation to "transform".


Thanks a lot :)