PDA

View Full Version : Suite question



jpadilla
10-08-2013, 09:13 AM
I am having issues with my suite creation. I have 8 MSI's I am including (all build with IS 2013) in the suite. For some reason it is suppressing the dialog for the MSI's, which is causing issues since most require user input. I am sure I am overlooking something simple as the MSI's function properly when run by themselves.

Anyone mind pointing me in the right direction?

Thanks.

jpadilla
10-10-2013, 06:47 AM
Anyone? I don't understand why my MSI's are working fine, but then run silent once I add them to the Suite.

rguggisberg
10-10-2013, 07:18 AM
Go to
Organization
Packages
Click on desired package
Install
What do you have for
Target
EXE Command Line
EXE Silent Command Line
Change those parameters as needed.

jpadilla
10-10-2013, 07:32 AM
Target > SQLUpgrade.msi
MSI Command Line > blank
MSI Silent Command Line > blank


One thing I did notice just now is that if I build the MSI's and EXE's and then add the EXE's, I then get the dialogs I expect. So I guess my question is why do the MSI's run silently while the EXE's give me the dialogs. All the EXE does is extract the MSI I thought.

rguggisberg
10-10-2013, 08:08 AM
Open a command prompt.
CD to the folder with the msi.
YourMSIFilename.msi /?
View options and choose desired... probably something like:
/qb
for MSI Command Line

I typically use the .exe for install... but you should be able to use either.

jpadilla
10-10-2013, 08:22 AM
Adding the /qb flag (you were correct) didn't work either. I was under the impression that adding the MSI was the 'best practice', but hey since the EXE works without issues and others do that, I think I will go that route rather than continue to bang my head against this wall. Thanks rguggisberg.