PDA

View Full Version : Sql Server 2008 R2 SP1 missing in SetupPrerequisite



rossellag
11-30-2012, 09:54 AM
Hello,

I'm evaluating the trial version of InstallShield 2012 Spring Premier.
I need to insert Sql Server 2008 R2 SP1 as a prerequisite but I've seen that is missing the in the setup prerequisites list, what can I do?

hidenori
11-30-2012, 12:20 PM
You can define your own InstallShield prerequisite for SQL Server 2008 R2 SP1. For details, see Defining InstallShield Prerequisites (http://helpnet.flexerasoftware.com/installshield19helplib/Default.htm#StartTopic=helplibrary/IHelpSetPrereqCustom.htm).

rossellag
12-01-2012, 11:38 AM
Thank you very much for your reply.

I stil need you help because I have little time to evaluate Installshied.
I must create a setup for a commercial product and I will decide within two days which software to buy.

The installation must allow me to:
- set .Net framework 4.0 and SQL server 2008 as prerequisites (if not installed on the computer of the customer must be installed)
- sql script can be executed to create and populate a database
- insert file .exe of my program and its dll.

What is the best way to do this things with InstallShield? Which type of project should I create(Basic Msi, Project Wizard)? There are tutorials that allow me to quickly understand the way to go?

AmitRout
12-04-2012, 01:43 AM
Follow the below link for your reference
http://www.wavepointstudios.net/Free-InstallShield-Tutorials.aspx

Then decide your project type as per your requirement

rbhalek
12-04-2012, 04:09 AM
I am new in installshield, I have installshield 2010 and want to build basic msi for vs2010 wpf project with sql server 2008 r2 express I found .prq file for sql server 2008 R2 and copied that file into
"C:\Program Files (x86)\InstallShield\2010\SetupPrerequisites" this folder but when i run installshield my sql prq file not showing in "Installation Requirement" of installshield project to check the checkbox and select prq's in my msi project

Please suggest me how to instert \ add my custom .prq/prerequisites into installshield "Installation Requirement" list of prerequisites ?