PDA

View Full Version : Suite installation failing on 64-bit OS



rboutilier
11-10-2011, 08:41 AM
I've created a suite installation with a single feature containing two packages.

Package 1 is the msi installer for the 32-bit version of my application with the following eligibility condition
Platform: OSVersion: 5.0-;Architecture: x86

Package 2 is the msi installer for the 64-bit version of my application with the following eligibility condition
Platform: OSVersion: 5.0-;Architecture: x64

The suite installation succeeds on a 32-bit OS and correctly installs the 32-bit version of my program. Running the suite installer on a 64-bit OS consistently fails. The last few lines of the debug log are as follows:

11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: MSI parcel operation requires elevation
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Failed to obtain proxy handler for elevated MSI parcel operation
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: MSI parcel launch result: 800700e9
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: property 'ISInstallStatus' value now 'Package operation complete'
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISInstallStatus Value=Package operation complete Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: property 'ISParcelStatus' value now 'ID_STRING16'
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISParcelStatus Value=ID_STRING16 Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Parcel operation return status: 800700e9
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: MSI parcel detect: product code: '{CB99187B-2F6A-4BA9-9DED-1970B116CC58}', package code: '{BC98C8EF-B9CF-4417-AF94-CD590DE0AC1F}', patch code: ''
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: MSI parcel detect: evaluate status: 0, is installed: false
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Re-running parcel detection for parcel {59575D73-82DB-4966-8DFD-B2B27D562EF9}, install state: 0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Transaction: parcel returned error status 800700e9
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Transaction: finished running parcels, will roll back transaction
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: End transaction result: 1
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: error 800700e9 while running parcel operations
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: parcel operations completed, sending completed event to UI
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: property 'ISInstallStatus' value now 'IDS_SUITE_INTERRUPTED'
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISInstallStatus Value=IDS_SUITE_INTERRUPTED Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: property 'ISParcelStatus' value now ''
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISParcelStatus Value= Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=SETUPSUPPORTDIR Value=C:\Users\FAROAD~1\AppData\Local\Temp\{41957C90-C088-4271-9C1E-C42445DE3F63}\ Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISSelectedLanguage Value=1033 Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=SETUPSUPPORTDIR Value=C:\Users\FAROAD~1\AppData\Local\Temp\{41957C90-C088-4271-9C1E-C42445DE3F63}\ Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISSelectedLanguage Value=1033 Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Get: Property=ISInstallStatus Value=IDS_SUITE_INTERRUPTED Return Code=0
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: Engine: property 'ISCurrentPage' value now 'InstallationComplete'
11-9-2011[12:26:29 PM]: UI DLL: Blocking Main Thread
11-9-2011[12:26:55 PM]: UI DLL: Shutting down
11-9-2011[12:26:55 PM]: UI DLL: Releasing Main Thread
11-9-2011[12:26:55 PM]: Engine: all operations completed, final status: 800700e9
11-9-2011[12:26:55 PM]: Final exit status: 800700e9
11-9-2011[12:26:55 PM]: State manager: cleaning up state info

Both packages are set to require elevated privileges and the required execution level for the release is Administrator. Earlier in the log file the following appears, which I'm assuming is related:

11-9-2011[12:22:38 PM]: Timed out waiting for proxy to respond

Does anyone know what might be causing this?

mfd001
11-11-2011, 02:34 AM
I have the same problem!!

InstallerN00b
11-17-2011, 06:48 PM
any word on a solution, yall?

InstallerN00b
11-18-2011, 02:51 AM
I think the issue rboutilier is describing is a bug.

For now, a potential workaround: install your 64-bit app into "ProgramFiles (x86)" and "sysWOW64" instead of ProgramFiles and system32 (on x64).

To do this, remove any architectural identifiers and template summaries that label your package2 as 64-bit. However, make sure all your 64-bit components have the "64-bit Component" field set to YES (in Orgization->Components view, General section).

Use the "Application Data" -> "Files and Folders" tool to set the specific install location for ALL OF YOUR COMPONENTS**. You can rt-click "show predefined folders" to expose the many install location options. I set ProgramFiles and System (rather than ProgramFiles64 and System64).

**You can't have any components serve both 32 and 64bit installs. If you are using a single ISM (+release flags) to create both package1(x86) and package2(x64), and any single component is to be used in both 32 and 64, you'll have to duplicate this component.

Does this work for anybody else?

mfd001
11-18-2011, 03:44 AM
I will test your workaround..

I have ongoing case at Flexera support, I will post their reply when/If I get one..

I got this problem after I apply the SP1 patch, was that the case for you as well?

mfd001
11-18-2011, 03:59 AM
Your workaround works, the Installer doesn´t crash but it still installs to Program Files(x86), so that is not good enough for me..:)

I will keep you updated about the support case and thanks for the help!

rboutilier
12-01-2011, 10:05 AM
Any word on this? This apparent bug has completely halted my experiments with suite installations. And in reference to a previous query, I do believe this behavior was introduced with SP1.

SherylSikora
12-01-2011, 10:54 AM
We believe we have a fix for this issue. Please make a backup copy of SetupSuite64.exe in the ...\InstallShield\2012\Redist\Language Independent\x64 folder and then unzip the attached file and place the SetupSuite64.exe in that same folder. Rebuild your installer and retry the install.

Please let us know if this does not fix the issue for you.

rboutilier
12-01-2011, 11:40 AM
That appears to have done the trick. Thank you!

InstallerN00b
12-02-2011, 03:08 PM
also working for me, and just in the nick of time!:D

mfd001
12-05-2011, 07:24 AM
I will try this..

Interesting that I get a fix for this issue through the community before I here something from the Flexera support. The case is still open ad they are working on it..?

InstallerN00b
02-01-2012, 01:05 AM
We believe we have a fix for this issue. Please make a backup copy of SetupSuite64.exe in the ...\InstallShield\2012\Redist\Language Independent\x64 folder and then unzip the attached file and place the SetupSuite64.exe in that same folder. Rebuild your installer and retry the install.

Please let us know if this does not fix the issue for you.

Sheryl, is this also compatible with the standalone build for IS Premier 2012? Is service pack 1 also available for SAB? I'm running into different build results from my desktop edition of Premier and the SAB version (obviously). How can I bring these into alignment?

Thanks.

SherylSikora
02-02-2012, 10:15 AM
Yes, this fix can be applied to the Standalone Build. But if you do not already have the update for SP1 I would recommend installing that first. The following KB article will tell you how to obtain the updated Standalone Build installer.

Q201298: InstallShield 2012 Service Pack 1 (http://support.installshield.com/kb/view.asp?articleid=Q201298)