PDA

View Full Version : Links to Technical Blog Posts on InstallShield 2012



DebbieL
09-27-2011, 05:13 PM
The InstallShield development team has written a series of technical blog posts to highlight and explain new functionality that is available in InstallShield 2012. We’ve focused mostly on the new Suite support, and covered areas such setting up mode conditions, customizing the Suite UI, and incorporating SQL wizard pages into a Suite project. Here’s a list of the articles:

Keys to the Suite (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/09/keys-to-the-suite-by-michael-urman-over-the-last-several-years-weve-all-seen-a-common-trend-in-our-installations-th.html)
An Introduction to Suite Terms and Concepts (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/09/an-introduction-to-suite-terms-and-concepts-1.html)
Installing a Suite: Package Operations (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/09/installing-a-suite-package-operations.html)
Mode Condition? What the Heck Is a Mode Condition? (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/10/mode-condition-what-the-heck-is-a-mode-condition.html)
Installing a Suite: Package Operations (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/09/installing-a-suite-package-operations.html)
Defining Conditions for a Suite Installation (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/10/defining-conditions-for-a-suite-installation.html)
6 Best Practice Tips for Defining Conditions in a Suite Project (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/10/6-best-practice-tips-for-defining-conditions-in-a-suite-project.html)
Troubleshooting Issues by Logging a Suite Installation (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/10/troubleshooting-issues-by-logging-a-suite-installation.html)
Using Styles to Customize the User Interface of a Suite Installation (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/10/using-styles-to-customize-the-user-interface-of-a-suite-installation.html)
Sequencing Wizard Pages in a Suite Project (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/11/sequencing-wizard-pages-in-a-suite-project.html)
Background on Suite UI Rendering and Tab Orders (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/11/background-on-suite-ui-rendering-and-tab-orders.html)
Localizing a Suite Installation (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/11/localizing-a-suite-installation.html)
Special Uses for the Image Control in Suite Installations (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/11/special-uses-for-the-image-control-in-suite-installations.html)
Using the Hyperlink Control in a Suite Installation (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/11/using-the-hyperlink-control-in-a-suite-installation.html)
Putting the "Wizard" in Wizard Pages (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/12/putting-the-wizard-in-wizard-pages.html)
Extension Conditions (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/12/extension-conditions.html)
Using SQL Dialogs with DIM Projects (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/12/using-sql-dialogs-with-dim-projects.html)
Calling a Function in a DLL from a Wizard Page or Window in a Suite Installation (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2011/12/calling-a-function-in-a-dll-from-a-wizard-page-or-window-in-a-suite-installation.html)
Selecting Suite Packages to Match the Language of the Target Machine (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2012/01/selecting-suite-packages-to-match-the-language-of-the-target-machine.html)
Validating User Input in a Suite Project (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/2012/03/validating-user-input-in-a-suite-project.html)


We’ll add more links to that list when additional articles are published. So, you may want to subscribe to this community thread. As an alternative, consider subscribing to the InstallTalk blog (http://blogs.flexerasoftware.com/installtalk/) directly, so you can see all of the installation-related blog posts on the latest best practices, industry trends, and more.

DebbieL
05-17-2012, 08:29 AM
For more technical blog posts, see the sticky in the InstallShield 2012 Spring forum. All new articles will be listed in that thread. Here's a link:

Links to Additional Technical Blog Posts on InstallShield (http://community.flexerasoftware.com/showthread.php?t=201655)