PDA

View Full Version : Unable to do Silent Installation in GERMAN OS



prasad_remo15
10-08-2010, 04:08 AM
Hi,

We've been developing a setup which has many Basic MSI Setups which are being inoked silently in a mster InstallScript Setup based on the User Requirements. we were executing all the Child MSIs usijng LaunchAppAndWait with parameters and switches for Silent Installation. Everything were working fine in English OS, but when we used the same setup in German, it shows the message box which is displayed when passed invalid parameters to MSIEXEC. We printed that Command Line in a log file and tried to execute it manually, it worked !!! I don't know why it's failing only when invoked from an Install Script. Is't doing an automatic Conversion to German of command lines? Pls Help!!!

joshstechnij
10-11-2010, 06:45 PM
What is the command line option you are passing to launch the installation silently? Normally, using /qn will run an MSI installation with no user interface.

prasad_remo15
10-12-2010, 08:33 AM
I am passing the command line with /qn only.Command Line

This is the command line -

C:\Windows\system32\msiexec.exe /i "D:\Raw_Setup\ServerComponents\Server.msi" REBOOT=R SQLEXPRESS=1 SQLPRESENT=1 ALLUSERS="1" /L*v "C:\PROGRA~1\HO~1\TRINIT~1\INSTAL~1\InstallationLog.log" /qb! SERVERIP="H-PC" INSTNAME="SQLEXPRESS" TDATABASEPATH="C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\DATA" SQLMODE=1 DOMAINNAME="H-PC" SERVICE_USER_NAME="H" SERVICE_PASSWORD="9bvmw›¨" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files" CERTLOCATION="D:\RAW_SE~1\ServerComponents" MASTERSOURCEDIR="D:\RAW_SE~1" CONTROLLERDIR="D:\RAW_SE~1\Language" DATAFILEPATH="C:\Program Files\CacheFiles\"

Is the command line correct?

joshstechnij
10-14-2010, 11:37 AM
There does not appear to be anything obviously wrong with the command line you are using (note that /qb! will run with a basic UI and not silently, though). To our knowledge, there shouldn't be any differences for command line options between localized versions of msiexec.exe.

To isolate the cause of this behavior, you may try removing parts of the command line to determine if there is some specific part of the command line causing the issue. Removing the properties as a test first can help to isolate the cause to a property being passed or a command line switch.