PDA

View Full Version : Update patch or create a Project as an update ?



fpci9590
06-23-2010, 04:55 PM
What's the better way to go....

I've created a full Project package for installation that contains a sql server setup.

To update my software, I only need to overwrite some of the application files, I don't need the sql server setup.

I noticed if I go the route of Update Patch and import my original installation package, I get a whole bunch of custom actions which in the detail view, I can't tell what is what and some I can't even select.

If I create a new Project with just the stuff I need, what do I need to know as far as selecting or using as the project code or upgrade code ?

Do I use the same project code and upgrade code as set in the original installation package ? or do I create a new set ?

My goal is to create a smaller update package that just updates my application files.

fpci9590
08-10-2010, 08:33 AM
anyone, any ideas ?

wise80x86
08-13-2010, 01:25 PM
A related question. Does a patch have to relate to a single previous version or can I make a single patch that will update multiple previous versions?

Thanks!!