PDA

View Full Version : Variable Issue



uttambharadwaj
03-29-2010, 02:27 AM
Hi, Can somebody tell me whether is it possible to use variables set by one installer in another created using Installanywhere 5.5?

pv7721
03-29-2010, 05:42 AM
IA variables are local to any installer (unless they use merge modules, and in this case the variables are known in those modules). But if you've got an installer A and you want to create another installer B, unless you've got the original project, how can you know what IA variables the original installer uses?!? And the previous is true, no matter which IA version!

uttambharadwaj
03-29-2010, 07:05 AM
Ok thanks.. U mean to say once installer A quits, all the variables of A which are set will be destroyed..

pv7721
03-29-2010, 07:32 AM
Normally yes, but what is your use case (i.e. why do you need variables or what variables from the first one do you need in the second one?)

uttambharadwaj
03-29-2010, 09:33 AM
My case is like installer B will be called through installer A, So i want to use some variables in b\B which are set in A

Regards,
Uttam

pv7721
03-29-2010, 10:25 AM
Without the two projects I really cannot say if what you want to do is feasible or not.

uttambharadwaj
03-30-2010, 04:55 AM
Ok thanks for replying.

Regards,
Uttam