PDA

View Full Version : Re-installation



iterator
03-02-2010, 12:54 PM
I'm not sure what's going on, but when someone installs a new version of my product, they get a dialog saying they need to go to control panel and uninstall the previous version.

I thought the installer was supposed to do the uninstall itself and then install the new version. In the past I've seen it work this way. A dialog would come up saying that the installer had to uninstall a previous version. There was nothing telling the user they had to do this themselves manually.

Thanks.

DebbieL
03-03-2010, 09:13 AM
For your upgrade, you would need to add an upgrade item in the Upgrade Paths view. The upgrade item is where you identify information such as the upgrade code of the previous version of your product. When you add this information, your upgrade installation will be able to check the target system and look for earlier versions of your product that need to be removed automatically at run time.

For more info, see Creating Full-Installation Upgrades (http://helpnet.flexerasoftware.com/Robo/BIN/Robo.dll?tpc=/robo/projects/isxhelp16/CreatingMajorUpgrades.htm), plus the other help topics that are in this section of the help.

I hope that helps.