PDA

View Full Version : Portal seems to be missing stuff



sandhi
01-18-2010, 01:20 AM
Hi there,

We've followed the installation guide for FLEXnet operations to the end of chapter 3. The only thing that seems fishy is that http://<hostname>:8888/flexnet/operationsportal/ does not work ("Portal Error", apparently), although http://<hostname>:8888/flexnet lets us log in to the portal.

However, once logged in the portal seems to be lacking elements it's supposed to have. The only links available to be clicked on are "Change password" and a couple of help topics. There is definitely no "Administer Operations" as the Getting Started guides suggest. Can someone tell me what's going on? I can attach a screenshot if that is of use. Thanks.

RobertDickau
01-18-2010, 10:11 AM
Actually, there are two interfaces in FNO: the administrative console, into which you log in with http://host:8888/flexnet/operations (or just .../flexnet); and the customer self-service portal, using http://host:8888/flexnet/operationsportal.

You'll probably want to focus on the administrative console first, in which you define license technologies, products, features, users, customers, entitlements, etc. Only this admin. console includes the Administer Operations view.

sandhi
01-18-2010, 03:54 PM
OK, it seems then that the login at the address you give for the customer self-service portal is not working at all ("Portal Error"), and I have only managed to log in via the address you give for the administrative console. However, the page I get when logged in is lacking "Administer Operations". I've attached a screenshot.

I see that although I logged in at http://host:8888/flexnet/operations, the address once logged in is http://host:8888/flexnet/operationsportal/startPage.do, and the help provided is for the "FLEXnet Operations Self-Service Portal"... so maybe this is the customer self-service portal after all? Not sure what's going on.

RobertDickau
01-18-2010, 05:57 PM
That's strange; after "logging in" to that screen, what happens if you re-enter http://server:8888/flexnet or http://server:8888/flexnet/operations in your browser? In the administrative console, the toolbar should appear more or less like the following...

sandhi
01-18-2010, 06:13 PM
if I enter http://server:8888/flexnet in the address bar after logging in, it makes me log in again, which takes me back to the portal as show in in my screenshot. Ditto for http:/server:8888/flexnet/operations

RobertDickau
01-18-2010, 06:31 PM
That might indicate that FNO cannot find your license file, or that it's invalid; I see the same screen and behavior that you do if I delete my license file.

If you have a valid license file, please run the flexnet site command and browse for the file in the first screen of the configuration tool. Otherwise, please contact Flexera Software sales (http://www.flexerasoftware.com/company/contact.htm) for an evaluation license.

sandhi
01-24-2010, 06:14 PM
Hi, sorry for the slow response. The FLEXnet Operations Configurator appears to be pointing to our license file correctly and the license does not expire until next year. Would it help if we sent you our server.log? Most of it seems to be taken up with a repeated exception:

java.lang.ClassCastException: java.lang.String
at com.flexnet.web.platform.taglib.AuthorizeTag.getPrincipalAuthorities()

sandhi
01-26-2010, 10:29 PM
The problem was that the license needed to be run on a license server but we were treating it as a local license. Sorry for taking up your time with such a simple mistake.

RobertDickau
01-26-2010, 11:08 PM
I'm glad you have it working now---thank you for posting the resolution!