PDA

View Full Version : InstallShield 11 problem (wrong forum, I know) - Upgrade issue - please help me

MikeAshton
01-13-2010, 12:25 PM
Sorry for posting in the wrong forum. There doesn't appear to be an InstallShield 11 forum any where.

Anyway, somebody has left my company and I'm left with InstallShield so I'm new to all this.

I have recently tried to produce a new install (a minor upgrade). A clean install works correctly, but when I try to perform an upgrade of an older version of our software InstallShield just goes through the motions; it updates the Add/Remove Programs list but fails to copy any files.

I thought this was my ineptitude at modifying the install, so I did a "get" of a previous install and rebuilt it. My rebuilt version exhibits the same functionality, clean installs work, but upgrade do not copy any files (the original version built by the guy who has left works correctly).

Any ideas where I can start looking? I have tried producing an MSI log, but there is just too much information in there. I'm not sure what to look for. Have there been any Windows/Flexera updates which could have affected the functionality?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Mike.

Cary R
01-13-2010, 01:40 PM
Hi Mike,

I would try the following KB, as it's a great start on troubleshooting issues like this:

Q200372: Troubleshooting Minor Upgrades
http://kb.flexerasoftware.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=Q200372

Let us know what you find.

--Cary

MikeAshton
01-14-2010, 01:02 PM
Hey thanks for the link, it was very useful.

I've been through the webpage and using my limited understanding of InstallShield I _think_ I might have got to the bottom of the issue. Maybe.

Let me run it by you...

When I attempt the upgrade the MSI log states:
ComponentId '{9BFFB8F8-F55F-10B2-C01F-C8B3B9A1E18E}' is registered to feature 'Required', but is not present in the Component table. Removal of components from a feature is not supported!