PDA

View Full Version : installation of .net 3.5 framework



AmetekJAC
07-03-2009, 09:07 AM
Hi, I have set .net 3.5 as a prerequisite, and selected it as a redistributable.
However it was never activated until i created a separate feature for it.
Now I notice that the .net is installed and requests to restart the PC but doesn't continue with the installation of our program.
Am I tackling this the right way?

cheers
Jim

azad khan
07-05-2009, 12:26 PM
Hi ...

Ur problem can be solved from prerequisite which u r adding from redistribute list there is an option in the properties of prerequisite that u can escape the restart option as ur prerequisite is installed.

Search in the properties of prerequisite u will find that option to escape restart..

MichaelU
07-06-2009, 11:20 AM
It's not recommended to install the .NET framework as a feature prerequisite. Perhaps you previously had it as a setup prerequisite, but were launching the .msi file instead of the setup.exe bootstrap?

Time Files
08-12-2009, 10:14 AM
I have a comparable issue. I set .NET Framework 3.5 to install before feature selection. I had issues downloading the package (due to corporate network issues, I'm sure), but I thought I had found the proper dotnetfx35 and helper applets.

I tested my install kit this morning on a computer without Internet access -- as my end users may not all have net access. The installation attempted to download the .NET framework, which of course failed.

How do I set up ISEx to properly install the Framework?
Where do I directly download the needed files?
And to retest, how do I clean up the manual installation of the Framework? Do I have to uninstall all Framework components?