PDA

View Full Version : how to disable the Modify option on reinstallation?



billwe
05-11-2009, 04:33 AM
I'm using InstallShield 2008 Express Version 14 to build a simple installer, which has only a Typical setup type - no Minimal or Custom.

If I run the installer and let it complete successfully, and then run the same installer a second time, it recognises that the installation is already present and shows a "Modify/Repair/Remove" dialog. If I click Modify on that dialog, I'm taken to a Custom Setup dialog with no content. Is there are way I can disable that step? What I would probably like is for the "Modify" option not to appear at all on reinstallation. Is this possible?

I've set "Disable Change Button" and "Disable Repair Button" in the InstallShield project, but that just seems to relate to the Control Panel "Add/Remove Programs" item, not to the installation wizard.

Ranjit Kumar
05-11-2009, 05:18 AM
Edit the dialog box and hide the modify button

billwe
05-11-2009, 07:05 AM
How can I do that in the Express edition? Under "Customize the Setup Appearance" it says "The Premier and Professional editions of InstallShield provide a powerful dialog editor ..."