PDA

View Full Version : Product Code and Upgrade Code



JeffDavis
04-21-2009, 12:09 PM
I am trying to figure out a way to build my installs so that a user can delete a file and/or copy a newer one into the target folder and NOT have the Windows installer automatically do a restore.

When I build my installs I normally keep the Product Code and Upgrade code the same for every new build of the install. Most of our installs are for interanal use only and some of them are even just incremental builds for testing. The testers sometimes get a newer file from a devloper or need to delete a supporting file and it is frustrating when Windows re-installs the deleted or upgraded file.

Do these codes have anything to do with the Re-install process? Is there something I can do in the installer setup that would disable this?