PDA

View Full Version : Deleting files from target reinstalls them



JeffDavis
02-03-2009, 06:09 PM
I have several install projects that create folders that have content in them. But the users are allowed to delete these folders and/or the content. But when they do they automatically get installed again? I don't do anything special in the install project. What causes this and how do I disable the feature?

KathyMorey
02-04-2009, 09:07 AM
That is the default behavior of Windows Installer - if it detects that installed components are missing or corrupt, it repairs them by running a reinstall. I don't think you can disable the functionality, but you might take a look at the Windows Installer documentation about components and key paths to determine how to get around it.

JeffDavis
02-04-2009, 11:40 AM
Yes I realize it is the default behaviour. I have looked through the Installshield help and can't find anything about setting a prroperty of installed components so when deleted they are not reinstalled. Or by your comments do you suggest this can't be changed in Installshield?

Jeff