PDA

View Full Version : Retaining the value in registry during upgrades



krishnaKumar
01-12-2009, 10:52 AM
Hi All,

I have a setup build in IS 2008. It is a basic MSI project. I store the product key in the registry. We keep releasing newer versions once in a month or so, which contains either fixed bugs or few enhancements.

How do i retain the value written in the registry because on the Installation of the newer version results overwrites the registry value. The registry value is now empty. How do i check this.

Also, is there any specific thing that should be considered while developing the setup so that it acts as both an upgrade version, if an older version exist or as a Installer if no version exists.

Sometimes I face a peculiar error "MSI File not found" when trying to run the installer in the machine already having an older version. The Installation goes fine but when i try to execute the application, i get this error.

I know i have asked too many questions but these are the problems that i face now and need a solution very badly. Also i am just a beginner when considering the experience i have using IS.

Thanks in advance

krishna

Mark Koehler
03-12-2009, 08:22 AM
Did you ever find an answer to the registry key issue? I've encountered the same problem.

krishnaKumar
03-18-2009, 12:18 AM
Hi Mark,

No, I havent found a solution for it. I have posted it in many forums but I am yet to get a reply in any of the forums. When i tried contact the Support team, they say that a Support plan must be taken for them to help us and it comes with a cost. Cant afford to ask the management or client to pay for the plan. Still scratching my head on this issue.

Regards

krishna

HennoKeers
03-18-2009, 03:55 AM
Why don't you make patches (.MSP) for it?
You only update the files and registry entries that need changing, and once a year you make a new major version that includes all the patches.

reg, Henno.

Mark Koehler
03-18-2009, 08:17 AM
I also submitted my question in a new topic :

http://community.acresso.com/showthread.php?t=186778

I haven't tested it yet but I suspect this approach will work for me.

DataAnalyzer
11-29-2012, 10:45 AM
That link doesn't exist.

RobertDickau
11-29-2012, 05:03 PM
Please try this link.